River in Judea
2005-04-29 - 9:24 a.m.

Last night was Christie's concert. We got there early as most of the parents have to do. Then had to stand in line. Each chorus student got two red tickets (the hall has a seating capacity of 400)and there were only 47 "extra seat" grey tickets. We were early enough for Kate to have been one of the chosen but ended up getting another red ticket from a friend whose husband could not come.

Turns out Zach came too (remember, the date to the formal). I was struck by his thoughtfulness. I was more impressed when he came and sat with our family "so Christie has a better chance of catching all of us."

Man, this daughters growing up thing is happening way too fast.

The concert was excerpts from all the performances over the year and went from "ABC" from the Jacksons, the Beatles' "Eleanor Rigby" to Hebrew love songs, liturgical music in Latin, a Spanish number, etc.

One of the highlights was a chorus and crowd favorite in which the choir members were on stage and lining the walls of the hall. In the center of the stage one young man stood and raised his hands in prayer then turned and stared at each person until they did so. As he continued around he began to rub his palms together continuing around til all were making that soft rustling motion. Then a wave of converting to finger snapping. Then a wave of heavy patting on their chests followed by a round of rumbling steps in place. About this time they began to break out in tropical bird calls. Then they reversed the motions again in rounds until they returned to the attitude of prayer and then started an African spiritual number. Just like the sounds of the rainforest.

One of their last numbers is their Chorus song, "River in Judea." They sing it every year with the seniors up front and inviting any alumni present to participate. I know I am extremely impressionable and emotional lately but it struck me how meaningful this song will be to Christie. Christie has always lived and loved music. So, yes, I was trying to wipe the occasional tear without Zach noticing. I asked Les this morning if music ever just plays in his mind. He said only rarely. With Christie and I it is almost all the time to the point where we ask each other "What is playing on your Head-io today" I thought of that..of three years from now when she would be standing proudly by Gwen with arms encircled as they sang the same song at their senior concert.

Mmmm, separation is really hard.


"River in Judea" Jack Feldman/Linda Marcus

Oftentimes I dream of music,
Of the river that freely flows.
And it sings a song sweeter than honey,
One everybody knows.
Late at night, I hear it singing.
Then again when I wake at dawn.
And it fills me up with hope and goodwill,
The will to go on,
Go on.

(Chorus)
There is a river in Judea
That I heard of long ago.
And it's a singing, ringing river
That my soul cries out to know.

I believe it keeps on trav'lin'
But it rests on the Sabbath day.
And the time when it pauses in stillness,
I almost hear it pray.
When I'm weary and downhearted,
How I long for the song it sings,
For the calm within its gentle blue,
The peace that it brings, it brings.

(Chorus)

May the time not be too distant
When we meet by the river (meet by the) shore.
'Til then dream of that wonderful day
As we sing once more, once more:

(Chorus)

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland