You Just Never Know
2004-09-22 - 4:33 p.m.

Good to hear from Mel re: Gyrth...particularly that he is well enough for PT "abuse." Such a good sign even though I can't imagine how physically and emotionally drained he must be.

I have been been thinking of them and of Michael so much as we waited for news(as many of us have). I just wanted to hear something that would put my nurse mind to ease that he was not only turning the corner but had indeed started the course on the other side. Super, super news to so many of us.


From the home front: Well, Kate thought her Teacher Cadet course was an AP course...it is actually a USC university course held at her high school...the difference is she was supposed to be admitted to USC and have tuition paid as opposed to us paying for an advanced placement exam sometime in the spring (the way her other courses have been conducted).

No, she (and therefore, we) did not have that clear so today was a crazy run around to get her admission application in and we will still have to wait til Monday to hear if we can register her since the deadline for applicatons was (yep) yesterday. The contact at the university said it happens all the time (No doubt, if you don't make it clear up front) and it should not be a problem. If it is...she will just take if for High School credit and leave highschool with only 13 credit hours instead of 16. In any case, she will be accepted to a University and we will have that to fall back on if none of the others she likes will accept her.

Who knew how stressful this would be? Probably Rhiannon, having been through it herself last year!


In other news, my coworker was out today. Her husband is some years older than us and has had several cardiac procedures. He continues to come in for cardiac rehab supervised exercise a few times a week and had been having some mild shortness of breath on the treadmill.

His cath today showed a 95% blockage of the left main coronary artery...we call those "the widow maker" because a total occlusion there prevents perfusion of essentially the whole left side of the heart. No perfusion=no muscle contraction=no pulse. Pretty stark reality.

Thank God he did not deny the symptoms, got in to an MD and had the cath. The alternate is too grim to contemplate.

In any case, I suspect with three kids age 2-11 and a husband who is going to have surgery shortly, she will be out for a couple weeks. I will of course, be filling in for her for all that I can. The long and short of that being that my hard summer is extending well into October.


I mention all this only so you all will know why I am so busy. Trust me, not to complain. In the face of all the stressors others face...being too busy at work and trying to figure out the minefields of college for our daughter just can't hit the mark.

Still, I am ever so thankful and mindful of my friends and SCA colleagues. Good people all, you buoy me up when I need it and inspire me with your attitudes and accomplishments. I am very thankful for each of you....perhaps today just a bit more than usual.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland