Powering Down
2004-07-02 - 10:10 p.m.

I have always been resistant to taking narcotics. Hate it. Must be somehow related to loss of control. But I learned something today when I came home to try to get some rest that 21 years of nursing and several surgeries and injuries never taught me.

Taking enough pain pills is like taking down a power grid one section at a time.

As you lie there, each section reports in as it relaxes into oblivion. "Left leg checking in and powering down." "Right arm, checking in and powering down." As each part sinks into its odd detachment, the rib tweaks out a pain like a little short resisting being thrust out of the system.

Eventually, your brain checks in and begins to power down. The rib is still sending, "Wait! I am not ready to shut down, yet," signals. But before you know it your brain just powers down.

Must really piss off the rib but you just can't care.

I guess that is how some folks get addicted. If you want to feel detached from pain, this is the ticket.

I guess the difference is how you perceive your life to pain ratio. I am blessed that I know my life is much more.

See what a little sleep will do for me? And some of you thought Polly-anna might be no more!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland