Lyrics that Speak to Me
2003-11-14 - 2:09 p.m.

This is a bit long but some songs are just too good to post a piece. These are some of my favorites:


Homeward Bound by Simon and Garfunkel plays on my headio many times when I travel.

Homeward bound, I wish I was homeward bound

Home, where my thoughts escape, at home, where my music's playin'

Home, where my love lies waitin' silently for me


WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD by Weiss and Thiele but only as sung by Louis Armstrong makes appreciation for my life well up within me.

I see trees of green, red roses too

I see them bloom for me and you

And I think to myself, what a wonderful world

I see skies of blue and clouds of white

The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night

And I think to myself, what a wonderful world

The colours of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky

Are also on the faces of people going by

I see friends shakin' hands, sayin' "How do you do?"

They're really saying "I love you"

I hear babies cryin', I watch them grow

They'll learn much more than I'll ever know

And I think to myself, what a wonderful world

Yes, I think to myself, what a wonderful world


Sweet Life by Paul Davis has always reminded me of those glorious, anxious times when we were young, in love and growing our family.

She's got your eyes, she's got my nose

And I get high just watching her grow

We always dreamed we'd live in a castle

Oh, but we're in the same old shack

Sometimes we get into a hassle

But we always take each other back

This old world seems to be in a hurry

But darlin' we'll just keep on takin' our time

'Cause we're livin' such a sweet life


Be Not Afraid by ? reassured me and strengthened my faith when I was young, alone and insecure.

You shall cross the barren desert, but you shall not die of thirst. You shall wander far in safety though you do not know the way. You shall speak your words in foreign lands and all will understand. You shall see the face of God and live.

Be not afraid. I go before you always. Come follow me, and I will give you rest.

If you pass through raging waters in the sea, you shall not drown. If you walk amid the burning flames, you shall not be harmed. If you stand before the pow'r of hell and death is at your side, know that I am with you through it all.


You learn by Alanis Morissette because everything you experience changes you and brings you forward to who you are today.

You live you learn

You love you learn

You cry you learn

You lose you learn

You bleed you learn

You scream you learn

You grieve you learn

You choke you learn

You laugh you learn

You choose you learn

You pray you learn

You ask you learn

You live you learn

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland