Remember the Important Things Hidden Between the Errands
2003-11-13 - 3:02 p.m.

What a busy week...huge projects at work with lots of effort only to have final products not used in the end because of a) potential to hurt the feelings of a support staffer who was doing the same task (unassigned) as a nice gesture b) our COO decided that a poster almost out for production was too large to go into the patient rooms.

Ahhh, life just keeps offering opportunities to learn to release frustrations, huh?


Tonight, we need to run several errands. One for work for the program tomorrow (third one to prep for this week) and others for gifts to mail here and there. Wish the week had been such that I felt able to spend time enjoying shopping....I feel a traitor to my gender and my GRITS upbringing.


But all in all, we are coasting rapidly downhill to Thanksgiving. That wonderful five day weekend filled with the people I love and the sounds and smell of the beach.

I am already late for choosing menus and making plans. I feel a bit undone in that I now feel rushed to achieve perfection. So not what the weekend is about.

I think I will start by taking a step back, saying a prayer for peace at heart and lowered expectations. I had a lovely email from a friend today that reminded me to stay with what is true.

So, the beach plans will go fine as they always do. I will think of my loved ones gone before as I prepare menus, pack and cook. I will smile in thinking of my dear family present as I throw the towel over the rail of the condo to let them know to come in from the beach for dinner.

The only thing that compares is padding out to the porch with a cup of coffee to watch the "smoke" rise off the mountains while you wait for the rest of the folks to wake up. I am thinking I will have to do that in Feb as it is no longer an option for our Anniversary. (We were married the same weekend that is most often Unevent.)

Yep, if every first Saturday is a Crown weekend, then I will likely need a quarterly escape weekend. I bet my husband and daughters would already applaude the idea!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland