Coming up for Air
2003-08-07 - 9:30 a.m.

So, for the past several weeks I have been immersed in acclimating six women to the profession of nursing as practiced at my hospital. Most of you cannot fathom what that entails. Just imagine chipping away at an iceburg of hospital processes, pathophysiology and treatment models, interpersonal skills and personal history beginning with a small intrument like a toothpick. Good thing is, as you chip away at the iceburg you find you get more effective instruments to continue the process...but those first few days toothpick to iceburg are REALLY challenging for the nurse and for the preceptor.

Yesterday we had a workshop on dealing with the dying and bereaved. It was requested by a new nurse but I wish I had planned it for September. Instead, for some unknown reason I planned it for after five weeks of intensive emotional and intellectual output and during the anniversary week of Dwight's death. And I had to teach ECG interpretation right afterward.

What was I thinking?

Suffice it to say, yesterday was hard.

Today is my first day back in the office in weeks. It is a wreck and so most of the am will be cleaning, filing and straightening.

Lunch with my husband and dinner with the fam with my fatherinlaw.

Tomorrow I am off and will finalize plans for Kate's party.

Missing you Pennsic folks already. Pack extra socks (and undies) in plastic baggies; Atlantia is having a wet year! Travel safe, have fun and come home safe as well.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland