Diamonds Are a Girl's Best Friend
2003-07-26 - 6:29 p.m.

So, my baby is turning sixteen. Not so much a right of passage as Sweet Sixteen used to be now that eighteen and twenty-one are so much more important.

She is so quiet. It is hard to read her wants and needs. Maybe it is because they frequently get treats of CDs, jewelry, clothes and such but they really don't ask for hardly anything. As previously described we are redoing her room and giving her a lovely "boy-girl" dinner party but still...

I wanted it to be special. For her to have a special gift she can keep and cherish. So, I asked her about gold jewelry. We have gotten her lots of silver jewelry in the past and the occasional gold earrings but until her Opal nothing really special.

So today we went jewelry shopping. First we found a lovely bracelet but as her tastes are discreet it did not seem "enough." So we looked at rings...and rings...and rings.

I knew we had the right one when her hand trembled when she held it out to have it placed on her finger. I smiled with deja vu as I remembered doing the same nineteen years ago for my engagement to her father. A tiny gold ring with a small diamond cuffed in gold.

So, another right of passage...our daughter's first diamond. Her daddy cracked jokes about one day hoping the next one was much bigger.

We drove by the apartment we brought her home to when she was born. I remarked how that has always been my favorite house. Such happy memories there.

We shopped a bit for her sister because we have always given sister gifts on birthdays. I got to share the news when Cym called from Germany. It was so sweet to share this with another mother of a daughter.

Yesterday we brought her home, three and a half pounds, jaundiced but precious. Tomorrow, we will pack her off to college to new experiences for her and anxieties for us.

Today, I will hold onto for quite a while. The shy smile and sparkling eyes of a young woman just shy of sixteen.

I love you Kate.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland