The Sisters Two
2003-08-12 - 1:38 a.m.

I write a lot about the girls...mostly because they are such a huge part of my life but also because I am genuinely happy and fortunate in that I really like who they are becoming as women even while I love them as our children.

They know I write about them and as with most teens, their response is a mix of good natured tolerance, some embarrassment and secret pride. I asked her permission to post this.

Today I would like to share a poem Christie wrote for me. It is significant to us for several reasons. First, it was one of her responses to my request that she exercise her ability to write about happier themes (she can be rather focused on sad or gloomy themes). Secondly, as we rear two daughters it has not been without conflict between the two of them. We hope for them a close relationship when we are gone. They are so different but this poem recognizes that and the relationship they are building despite it. Last, I am a little sister myself and it evokes powerful memories for me of that other generation before I became a wife and mother.


The Sisters Two

(By: A Little Sister)

"Paint me a picture older sister paint me a picture.�

�I�ll paint you a picture little sister, the best picture I can paint.�

�It is lovely, older sister, very lovely.�

�Dance me a dance, little sister, dance me a dance.�

"I�ll dance you a dance, older sister, the best dance I can do.�

�I love it, little sister, I truly do�

"Play me a song, older sister, play me a song.�

�I�ll play you a song, little sister, the best song that I can play.�

�That was wonderful, older sister, very good indeed.�

�I�ve nothing left, older sister, I�ve nothing to do.�

�Just be yourself, little sister, just be yourself.�

�I�ll be myself, older sister, the best self that I can be.�

�You�re perfect, little sister, just perfect as you are.�


I love you Christie. I am so very proud of you.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland