A Good Man
2003-07-01 - 11:30 a.m.

Perhaps I am just more attuned to sadness right after a gloriously happy event but some of the posts today resonate within me. I read Niobe's words about the pain engendered in the SCA and it seems like words from my own heart.

I wrote to Christian today in his moment of pain and discouragement and I thought I would flesh out here what I mean by "a good man." Please note that 99% of this is not gender specific.

For me, a good man has strength but also control.

I have seen good men vibrate with the hum of controlled passion. I have been fortunate to feel the safety of knowing such men which is a balm to heal the fears of my all too still present inner child.

A good man speaks softly in confidence as he knows he does not often need to "get big." He knows we know he can.

A good man is gentle in his honesty weighing his choice of words carefully with his perceptions of the strength of the one spoken to. In doing so, he neither loses the veracity of his thought or his compassion for the receiver.

A good man is not afraid to show emotion because he is confident in himself and all his component parts. He can share joy, frustration, humor and even fear yet he is not afraid of his humanity.

A good man is accountable to himself and others for his choices and words. His word is his bond and his apology is heartfelt.


To all the good men in my life who have protected me with your strength, mentored me with your wisdom and walked with me on my path. Thank you.

There are more of you than you realize and you have made a difference.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland