Master Nikulai is my Brother and my Friend
2003-06-30 - 11:27 a.m.

All can now be revealed...

This weekend was about making the dream for someone who has earned your regard and respect...no maybe esteem is a better word. But it wasn't just the weekend. For me it was the culmination of a series of realizations, plans and dreams.

First come the realizations that you are seeing beyond the initial dimension of another person and you like what you see. Next comes the realization that this person makes you want to be a better person yourself. Then you start to realize how many other people are being affected by the way this one being has personified their spirit. So begins the series of conversations as more and more folks have those same realizations.

When the Crown is part of that same series of realizations, there begins the process of how to bring all it all to fruition which is sweet but somewhat terrifying in its responsibility, particularly for someone's Peer. I am lucky that my friendship with Nia allowed me to be part of this sweet and scarey time.

Early on there is the decision point...to surprise or not to surprise. I am not a surprise person but John likes it so his Pel was a surprise to him. Nia and Nikulai are also part of that tradition. Because of their close working relationship, it was obvious Nikulai would snif out something being up. We needed a diversion....What if he thought Emma was being done? That would mean a lot of the same players and any "energy" could easily be explained away. So soon we were all actors in a multi act play. Nia was masterful in her ability to balance subterfuge with an understanding of how many people would want to share in this important moment.

Now, believe it or not, acting is hard for me. There were times when Nia would turn to me in front of Neal and ask me specific questions about "plans for Emma." Her eyes would be shining brightly in encouragement as my heart sped up with the worry that I was going to mess it up.

We wondered collectively and in smaller groups if we were pulling it off. "He must know something...he is too smart." "I think I stumbled through that." "I do not want to be the one to screw it up."

There were secret meetings to plan for Russian motif pottery for his handwashing and he was sent on cover "missions" to divert him. Ask D'Emma about the trip to get the dress. I went to Raleigh and we all met again trying to get last details worked out.

I went home to paint my house and then to have the joy of painting banners and sewing table decor while Les worked hard on hospitality. Meanwhile, Mor is knitting, Lucia is painting and calliging, Clare is throwing pottery, the O'Reilly's are getting together decor, Emma and Francesca are sewing and Nia is doing her best to look innocent.

We travelled there packed to the gills with D'Emma and Nia at site with Nikulai creating quick rewrites of our "script" so that hopefully he could be kept off guard. Lost in the sticks of NC we are on the carphone trying to get directions and figure out who we are supposed to think is the real and the fake candidate before we get to site.

I decide before dinner is done that I seem too calm for if Emma is being done so I call Nikulai to "panic" and again that morning tell him how much I need him to "stay at troll and MAKE SURE YOU GET HER AND KEEP HER AWAY!" said with an ever rising tone and edge to my voice.

The loving people of Windmasters contributed mightily to the beauty of the vigil site and before we knew it it was time for Curia. Our girls finished the last minute setup while I went up to sit with Emma and Neal, Emma doing her last lines about why I had to be off setting up someone else's vigil..."Do you guys do food for everybody?" Neal of course is sitting there being his quiet, patient, "knowing" self as he gently calms her without letting out his secret that it is all for her.

We go down to the lake and folks start picking up thrones to bring them down. Heck, I gave Nikulai one to carry....who would have to carry thrones to their own Peerage invitation court?

Then it was the moment. The Order there, my dear friend rises to go to get my protege....but no, she is stopping in front of Nikulai instead. Sweet moment of dawning realization followed by the awe of a truly humble man.

The rest of the day is a blur of heat, tics and humidity. I worried about him wilting in the tent especially when I heard he had not needed to go out to the necessary. We kept making him drink water hoping we could get him hydrated not knowing that as a man he had the ability to slip out to "take his ease."

By late afternoon, he had that worn bemused look that most folks have by the end of the vigil experience. We all had that look of wilt that comes from the release of pentup anxiety combined with 700% humidity.

We waited outside in the mist that came from our bodies before the cooling mist that preceeded the rain. We buoyed each other because we wanted to be "on" for the last scene in the play. And then it was time.

There are a number of times I have been glad to my core to be a Pelican. Other times I can reflect on being proud to be one of the Order. Saturday was both of those in one. I am thankful it was my opportunity to tell everyone who I know Nikulai to be. I am so very thankful to Nia for that chance. In as few words as possible I tried to convey to the assemblage and to him my deep regard and respect.

Neal, those words and these cannot begin to fully express those depths.

Congratulations and welcome, Master Nikulai.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland