Vacation Bliss
2003-06-27 - 11:17 a.m.

Yes, I really am alive...in fact even more so than usual because I have had such a lovely break. Not really leisure but a total break from stress. Much family and project time and lots of projects completed or at least well planned for execution.

Rewarding way to spend a vacation.


As some of you know I started vacation by going up to Raleigh to spend a few days with Nia. Got to go to Crazy Fire again this time with Lucia, Alejandro, Banefsha, Nia and Nikulai. Lots of good conversation and food.

The rest of the days were spent in getting a bit done here and there on projects, playing rails and BONUS! some nice times with Lucia.

Gotta remember next year to plan such a nice buffer between work and "vacation." Left Raleigh renewed.


Home to find that Les had indeed primed most of the woodwork and panelling in the den. But it was indeed slow going. Spent most of last week in painting, shopping and planning for Christie's birthday party.

Funny the week was chock full but I cannot remember details...not in that stressed out loss of memory way...just in a sweet sense of ease and flow that should be what our life is about.

Ran up to Wilmington midweek to go fabric shopping. Stayed with D'Emma and got some Wuffles time. Great dinner, easy conversation and BONUS! great fabric for the slipcovers and roman shades for just $7 yard!


Lucky 13. Christie turned 13 yesterday but we had her party on Saturday (when we could reserve the club). Stayed at Gpa's on Friday night which was lovely and sweet. Christie is such a gentle emotive spirit that she spent some of that time writing a poem about her feelings in staying at Grandmother's house without her. "I know Gpa lives here but this will always be HER house, Mom." It was perhaps her best work to date and I will cherish it.

Saturday was running to Manning and back (2.5 hours) to pick up one of her buddies, nine teen agers in a pool, loud laughter and talk, talk, talk at the cookout, then huge chunks of cake (Les had bought a HALF sheetcake not the usual quarter!) before we closed it down and yes, drove the 2.5 hours to and from Manning to take Rhi back to her Mom. Whew!

It is good though to have a room full of teenagers...it reminds me how truly well behaved our daughters are...but it is a reminder I can only take twice a year!


Talked to Cym and Sue both which was lovely and as always, food for my spirit. If the SCA never does another thing it has brought me my three sisters of my heart: Cym, Sue and Nia. If I tried all day everyday I could not mean to them all that they mean to me. Blessed, I am so very blessed.


This week was hours of painting before we called a truce and decided to work on projects for the weekend. I actually took Wed off and did nothing so my back could have recovery between the two events.

So, I hope I see you at Windmaster's Champions. I will be the lady with the big smile and radiating peace and security.


Still here? I know it was way long but I was on vacation for 2.5 weeks!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland