It's all about choices...
2003-05-06 - 11:14 p.m.

Stormy night and tornado watch woke me at 0215 then arose at 0530 to be at the hospital prepared to teach at 0730.

Reminded me of shift work and how appreciative I could be of my new job since I come and go as I need. It is really all about choice.

Sleep deprived and crabby or sleep deprived and embracing the day.

Class went well despite a conference room schedule conflict with one of our "more forceful" doctors. This time he was extremely gracious and deferred to me even while teasing me (remind me to tell the man-eating manatee story sometime).

Took a minute at the end of class to write him a thank you as I had informals in my purse (I have a lot to be thankful for). Meant to walk it to his office but saw him in the hall so he made me stand there while he read it.

When he looked up his face was amazing and softer than I have seen it in years. "How kind of you," he said. "I usually don't get things like this; it was really thoughtful of you."

Mama was right about thank you notes. Made my day and I hope helped change his.


Home to prep for tomorrow night at the musical theater's rendition of Chicago. Nice to give the girls the contrast.


Had been thinking of an old friend since Saturday and decided to go ahead and call. I had been worried but quickly found that things were better than I thought and there was soon an easy humor and interesting anecdotes and ruminations to explore together. Nice sense of reconnection. I am extremely proud of her for finding an excellent outlet for her talent and creativity. Reminded her that the same drive that made folks attracted to her made her too hard on herself.

So like many of my friends, some of whom haunt these pages. Wish we could be kinder to ourselves and to each other.


It really is all about choices.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland