All is now revealed...
2003-05-04 - 9:57 p.m.

Done....Crown Tourney weekend was a series of bests with just the occasional sprinkle of downers.

I had a lot on my mind this week...last minute preparations for Les's Pelican ceremony and family garb as well as finding out about Kate's Opal and making sure our family came through all this happy and fulfilled with as little stress as possible. All this with kidney colic and a week from hell at work. Still, I was determined that I would try to keep it positive despite some wrinkles.

So we leave to travel to site. Called Emma on the way to see where they were. Morphed plans as needed to make sure all needs were met. Check in to find we are on first floor (yea!) but last room next to door out (BAD for quiet at night). I sew Les's buttons while he polishes my coronet and for good measure, my Pel medalion :-) Poor sleep and up to finish closures on Kate's dress.

To site in time to check in with Les and the MOLage of Atlantia :-) and have some Emma time and some visit time before the intensity of the tourney. Sir Andras delivered the scroll which I deftly handed off while Les busied himself with MOL business! The ever dependable Christian found me asap and gave the Emma's new garter (did you all see it?) made by the VERY talented and giving Bera...missed B getting to see Emma's appreciation of it. Buckle back at hotel but no upset! Eldred is there and indeed I find needle and thread at Sacred Stone!

The tourney starts and I had an opportunity to support Emma in her other role as wife of an SCA Knight. We have a special peer-student relationship that some may not understand but it works for us. Still it was odd to have so many people I care for competing against each other with an intensity that sometimes does not allow room for how I like to play the game. I learned a learned a lot Saturday. I can honestly say, I can say I have a heart large enough to love many people.

Congratulations to our new Prince and Princess...they have served us well in the past and are now even more wise and capable. We will have a lovely next year.

I thought I would have time to relax with friends as I knew the list was not long (I AM SO SORRY) but right after I went to pay my respects to the Queen and then spent some time with her working out ceremony details. Left little time for anything before court.

Court was a strange mix of trying to stay in the moment for Kate and Les while stile honoring many others' needs and expectations...and then there was the squirrel who liked bagpipes!

Court was really wonderful. We have been blessed in our SCA careers with dear friends who care so much for us. Among those are several of the Monarchs we have served. I was so touched when Their Majesties called to ask how we felt about Kate receiving her AoA and surprised to hear they had decided it should be an Opal. Les and Chris went out Wed on an excuse to get Katie an Opal to wear as a gift from her sister. It is a symbol to both of them that their relationship is more important than anything else.

Jeanette received her Bright Leaf. I have gotten to know Emma's household better and better in the last several months and they continue to impress me with their talent and dedication. She helped me end my weaving experiment as Rachel was running cards during the tourney so Les could have it on his medalion. I am very proud of her work and look forward to people getting to know it better.

Then it was "the moment," I thought his becoming a peer was significant to us but as I stood there I was overcome. You see, near me were Theo and Roland, then Alan and Gen and across were Cuan and Padraigin. During their reign I was struck by several moments where one by one the spouse joined the other in the Order. For us, here we were. And because they cared for us, WE were there, us four...the girls got to be right there. It seemed to be the perfect culmination of so many years of packing for events, sharing responsibilites, supporting each other's growth...

And there he was...tired and a little worn but surrounded by folks who really did care about him. Wonderful words of affirmation from Niobe, Kitten through Byram, Nia and Daemon. Caring and talented support from Emma and Theo and Mordrea. Photographs from Aelfred and Roland and Kal.

Who wouldn't cry at so much love? Certainly not me! I was surprised and embarrassed to see the King come down to comfort me and had to struggle to get a grip. Thank you to whoever inched their way forward to bring me kleenex.

Hugs all around then packing in a monsoon (no kidding, I saw Noah cruise through and pick up two Knights, two Laurels, and two Pelicans while we were getting folks off the field!) Off we went in an odd procession through hail to eat together in one wild bunch.

I did not get to focus on Les and the girls til we got back to the hotel but both Kate and Les felt their moments were perfect. He said he never would have thought I would pick the Crown he worked first chair (exactly) and that he loved the simplicity (he did not want a vigil or reception)AND the squirrel....

But that is so like him, a simple man with a twisted little sense of humor....

and a wife and two daughters who really love him.

BEST?

Les's Pel followed closely by Kate's Opal with her teeny tiny Genna scroll.

Christie in her Emma made Daddy hood.

The way D faught.

Quiet time with Isabel.

Us four back at the hotel.

WORST?

Not knowing how to tell people about Les without word getting back.

What ever the allergen was there that made me wheeze like I was going to die.

Making the choice to worry about something instead of focusing on the joy of my family and friends.

Driving through a deluge.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland