Six Months Grace
2003-02-20 - 8:38 a.m.

Well, we got up yesterday and started on the license and I guess I lead a charmed life...we were at the Federal Building by 0900 and there were only 3 ahead of me in the SSN line. Got my stuff but of course no card and went to parallel park some (two attempts-both acceptable but not perfect) deciding to just go with my faith in my good driving record and go to DMV.

At DMV by 0945 with most of that travel time. (I live in the burbs, SSN downtown, DMV farther out in the burbs).

Get in line where the greeter comes and tells me, "It has only been 5 1/2 months so you are within the Grace Period." Wow, who knew I was that lucky?

So all I had to do was the eye exam and a new pix...did the exam without my glasses (HA!) and then suffered through a picture...the old one was great but I have cut my hair so I had to have a new one (9-11).

The long and short is that I am now LEGALLY driving :-) which will be all the better for my NoVA trip this weekend.


Can someone tell me how showing a SS card helps them prove I am not a terrorist?


Also, why are passports green when we are otherwise so red, white and blue?

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland