Nell goes to Ice Castles
2003-01-26 - 9:52 p.m.

So the secret is out...Isobel spoke too soon and the Gods (or at least Cuan) smote her and made her a Pelican.

It was a lovely ceremony. Really one of those that just looks and sounds right on. I had a terrific vantage point. Perhaps the best thing was that it felt like family. Eldred's was like that. There is an intimacy to a Peerage ceremony at a smaller event that (IMHO) is not matched or even offset by the "big moment" at a huge event.

Still, it was to hell and gone away from my house and I had about a ten hour trip. Really going to Wilmington only added about 2 hours to it. Thank you D'Emma and all for making the trip an easy one for me.

There was the now getting to be traditional sleep deprivation ;-) and late night vocabulary lessons before we rose and arrived rather early at the event.

I can't imagine why Isobel thought "I" was at Ice Castle except I guess it was wise that I came with D'Emma.

I went back to the hotel and blew off dinner in favor of Nia tomato salad and Trading Spaces. After a brief nap folks returned and we scurried about to prepare for Fiona's squiring. It was intimate and meant a lot to the people that were there to witness. I thought of you all and all your words about fealty. My life is a series of intersecting circles.

Back to the room to play. The bed was sufficient for at least an eight Pel pile on...I think Alan is just not a joiner! It was one of those really cool groups of SCA people from all walks of life and just having fun together.

We played at "Come as You Aren't" and I realized I could not come as Cuan as he is a lot softer than I once could have thought. We are so easy to see in one dimension.

At some point he told me I was "like Nell from the Jodie Foster movie..."

Now that is something disconcerting to think of...

Tayin in the wynnnnn.....

I hope it means that I am somehow at 43 an "innocent" and not the other descriptions that also come to mind.

Hmmmmmmmmm

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland