People in the Round
2003-01-30 - 3:12 p.m.

I have been spending a good bit of time contemplating because I need to reground myself in some basic truths and examine new truths that are becoming apparent to me.

The latest is the dimensionality of each person.

Huh?

It occurs to me that when you get to know a person it is usually one dimension seen from your then current perspective. The proverbial first impression. Significant in that it may lead to your next choices but also flat...uni-dimensional.

You have to change your perspective in order to see the other sides or through to the next level. Sometimes you don't have the time or choose not to take the time to go that next step. You continue to believe your first impression.

Likewise, others "know you" from their own perspective. They see different but still fragmented views of you. Some will take the time to change their perspective to see me from a different angle. Others will be there when I turn and show a different side of me. Others will go on with only a uni-dimensional view of me and have no idea what is behind that side of me.

Not everyone is going to see me from my "best side." Some will see a side of me and assume they know the other parts from their own historical view.

I have to release control of their perspective....while I take the time more often to change my perspective toward them.

So today I am praying for patience and new viewpoints.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland