Silk Envy
2002-06-21 - 11:16 a.m.

My silk that I ordered from Duchess Simone came in and it is too beautiful. Really, I mean too beautiful because most of it is going into a gift so I called to see what else she had so that I could have more for me!

Yes, I still have 20 yards of a dark dull red linen for the family folded neatly with the other gazillion yards of fabric I am scared to cut....but the silk was so soft and nubbly and vibrant and the aesthete in me could not resist. Now I want some cream silk to make a yummy Pennsic nightie suitable to be accidentally seen in and some you won't believe how beautiful the red is silk for a dress (10 gore if I am good at it, reliable Renn if not).

So, I am going to go shopping today with my girls; we hope to paint some pottery for their grandpa (a platter to use at the grill with little vignettes of things they do with him). I need to do some outfit planning with what fabric I have. Go by and get some yummy silk so that I can have working garb for Pennsic and then some Prissy pieces.

This weekend is trial for Pennsic pavilion furniture plan, plot and cut out HM surcoat, hem fabric for corner "wall" and plan design for the girls to stamp paint, buy silk and fabric for altar cloths and appliques.

Thank goodness for lovely family help. Gotta groove on Pennsic this weekend and week as next weekend is major family time. Friday is Leslie's Dad's retirement dinner with the Medical College. Saturday is Christie's birthday party complete with favors and preteen silliness. Sunday is Leslie's Dad's birthday and a combined family experience with all his sibs, the Grands and his Aunt Kay. (sure to generate diaryland entries next week.)

So what do you plan to do this weekend.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland