You can in the Yucatan
2002-04-27 - 12:38 a.m.

Les and Ann tour the Yucatan:

So, Les popped the question and we were off to the altar. Took 10 months in the planning and the date had to be picked around what our alma mater was doing with football but amidst family and friends we had a huge Catholic wedding on Dec 7, 1985. My memories are of beautiful music, lofty architecture and a long aisle and my Daddy. Crowds of people at the reception and the never-ending glass of champagne from the wine stewards circulating. So tipsy in the end that my Mother was mortified that I pranced around in my skivvies upstairs and would not put on my going away suit. We drove to Atlanta, as we would fly out from there to Cancun. I remember driving down I-20, eating rumaki out of the picnic basket and then finding out we had nothing but Champagne to drink. Yep, popped the cork out the window and drank from the open bottle. How non-pc that seems today. Ended up at the wrong hotel too tired to go to the other. Took off my makeup and was so scary looking I put it back on to go to bed. Expectations of honeymoon nights and reality are you just want to sleep. The next day we get separated at the airport and almost miss the flight. Our seats are taken and the attendant asks us just to sit so we can take off. I hate to fly and remember how upsetting it was to not have Les with me. A very nice lady next to Les hears it is our honeymoon and lets me sit with him after we are in the air. See, we are always cared for.

When we got to Cancun we were still exhausted. We wanted to explore the city the next day and I woke to sun streaming in� I knew there was siesta and we wanted to swim first so I prodded Les out of the bed. We ran out to swim a good while and returned to shower before Les saw the clock and said in that quiet, no nonsense voice, �Ann, it is 7am and I am going back to bed now.� I could tell there were no questions or responses needed�.

We went in to the market and found out we hate to barter. Les was okay but I found it offensive. We had chicken for lunch and found out days later that sometimes they pass off Iguana for Chicken. ICK! One day we went swimming with sea turtles, another we toured Isla Murajas. We rented a car and drove to Tulum (a ruin on the edge of a cliff) that was gorgeous and snorkeled together in Xelha. We took a tour bus to Merida and Chichenitza (spelling?) where Les insisted we climb the tallest pyramid despite my fear of heights. We spent our days in the majesty of the Mayan culture and beauty of the Yucatan.

The next day my thighs were in spasm, (from the climb up the pyramids you perverts) and so Les played golf. More shopping and romantic dinners. By the end of the week though Les was sick and I was hunting a doctor late at night speaking broken High School Spanish�.

The last day our bus comes to the condo to pick us up and gets a wheel caught in a ditch. Les is ill, and I think we might miss our flight. We get home to Atlanta and all I want for dinner is cold things to drink. Could not get them there, as ice melting is local water. So I literally ordered milk, iced tea, a coke and water for dinner. I think the waiter thought I was cracked.

Then home to my (now our) apartment and putting up a tree before the first of many tours of relatives homes on the holidays�It feels like yesterday, but it's been sixteen and a half years.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland