Nostalgia
2002-04-26 - 11:09 a.m.

Nostalgia-the 80's: College, big hair, exciting career, true love and babies.

I am not sure if it was reading about Andrew and Sorcha, Colin and Pavla or all the weddings right now or helping Kate find the "right picture" of her as a little girl to take to Spanish but I am waxing nostalgic.

Today I have been thinking about meeting Les and how that changed everything for me. I cannot imagine who I would be without his love, support and of course, our children.

I met Les when we were at the Univ of SC. He was engaged to the roomie of a nursing school friend (Johanna, Baroness Storvik). I remember thinking he must have had a screw loose himself to be in love with her as she was quite a psycho....but then, I was between engagements and having a nice time dating and was not looking so much for stability as fun...

We graduated, I went on to hospital nursing and it turns out he went to grad school. When Louise (Johanna) got married in May 1984, we both participated in the wedding. I remember being extremely biased and verbal about his dancing so much with her sister. My friends asked why I cared. Although I expressed (more than once) that I didn't, when we were throwing birdseed I realized I DID, and a WHOLE lot. I offered him my number...the only man I ever gave my number to.

And he did not call...at least not for a week cause he forgot it and had to wait for them to come back from their honeymoon.

But then he did call and by June we were seeing each other every day. I was on nights and he would come over at his lunch and then in the pm before I went to work...the lack of sleep almost killed me.

So, he started coming by and just leaving a note or a rose in my screen door. I would wake to know he had thought of me.

In September he took me to a beautiful French restaurant for my 25th birthday where he wined and dined me for hours before handing me a small gray velvet box....

No, it was pearl earrings and I guess my face showed my attempt at rapid change from expectation to disappointment to appreciation. I knew I loved him from sometime in the summer when I was ironing my uniform and out popped my inside voice and I said, "I love him." I was willing to wait.

No, not Christmas and not New Years. I received a job offer to move to Charlotte. I considered it as it was a good offer. He did not like the idea. February 6, he actually knelt down and asked. Did not have to think a millisecond.

Would think even less now....

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland