Pennsic of the Baby
2002-04-28 - 9:21 a.m.

And then there were three�

By New Years 1987, we had lost our second pregnancy and did not know yet that we were pregnant with Kate. We had not been trying to get pregnant or not really but it sure was hard to think we might not be able to at all. I decided to try to not think about it and concentrate on other things. Started a diet with a friend. One of those protein things and low and behold I was losing 2:1 and cheating too. Something about the diet though made me nauseated every day though and I did not figure it out til the fifth woman asked me if I was pregnant. Yep, I was and by that point 11 weeks. Very reassuring to my friend who was trying not to hate me. We called her P-nut til we found out she was a girl. Her ultrasound was so long we thought something was wrong with her. The Sonographer said her leg length was too short for her head circumference. I said, �Look at us and tell us why she would have long legs�� She agreed I had a point.

So here we were in a new condo, in an all adult community and so that spring we hunted for new lodgings. Moved the end of July, first of August. We got the furniture in except the nursery (She was not due �til the last of September.) and Les decided he wanted to go to Pennsic since Judith was from our Canton and Queen. I said sure cause I had always heard you should not travel in the last six weeks and that would crimp SCA for him. He diligently checked the flight schedules out of Pittsburgh and off he went with friends.

That was on Thursday. His daddy called that night and I thought how sweet it was that Les had him check on me. Off I went to night duty in labor and delivery and home to bed the next day. Could not rest for a nagging backache. Par for the pregnancy case, I thought and got up to go shopping at the mall. Back felt better walking and so hours later I stopped for dinner (filet of sole Florentine-yep fish and spinach). Home in time for Les to call and check on me. Thought my �water� leaked while I was on the phone but could not say, � hold on just a minute honey, I think I am in preterm labor.� So, I got off the phone and went to check�suspicious enough to drive myself in to the hospital. Got most of the way there before I started to freak myself out. 32 weeks, too much knowledge of what could go wrong and no husband to help calm me down with his rational mind. Knew if it was for real he could fly home but wanted to save him the worry if I was wrong.

Got there to be yelled at by my friends for driving myself (I couldn�t think of another option except worrying his parents). Turned out yes, it was true. I had been laboring most of the day and we were going to have her that night. They said they would place a call to Les to come home and asked how to reach him.

I said, �Call Richland County Police Dept and ask for the number of the Butler Co, PA sheriff. Ask him to go to Cooper�s Lake Campground and ask for King Olaf or Queen Judith of Atlantia and tell them that John of Lakenheath�s (Les�s old name) wife is having a baby.� Imagine the look on my co-workers� faces. When my OB got there and said he would talk to Les imagine his face when we all smiled and repeated the same litany.

Meanwhile at Pennsic, Les is out that evening touring the town like a country rube with his jaw agape. Judith is doing her Royal impression of Henny Penny in the Atlantian encampment and Olaf has sent his Squires and Guard out �in search of�� Les finally comes home to be set upon by the rest of Royal to learn he is about to be a dad. Barry MacFadden and another squire take him to Cooper�s Lake Store where they let him call and he finds out there is a noise abatement law and he cannot fly out �til morning. He calls me and I cry and tell him I am sorry. I did not want to worry him and we didn�t know about the new law. Katie is breech and I have to go tonight as her cord is at risk.

I call my folks and his and ask them to head to the hospital. They tape my engagement picture into my hand and off we go. Leslie�s parents arrive and he wears a hole in the linoleum �til the nurses out front ask him if he wants to go back (he is a pediatric cardiologist at our hospital). So, he comes in just about when Kate is born. 1238 am on August 15. She does not cry at first. I call to my friend who is circulating nurse but she is busy with her. I can hear them murmuring at the isolette. Then there is a thin, reedy cry and I turn to the Nurse Anesthetist and say, �that is the sweetest sound I ever heard.�

When I look back that is where I miss Les, he should have been there to hear that sound.

Back in PA, they are breaking in line every few minutes to call for report. Barry would push through and say, �Make way! This man�s wife is having a baby!� We talked in recovery or at least I cried a lot. I don�t remember that because of the meds.

The next day I got up early and sat in a chair. Made-up and waiting for him. Made my nurse friends check every time I heard the auto door to L/D. Finally it was he. We hugged and kissed and went to NICU to see her. She was so tiny, 3 lbs 13 oz. I can close my eyes and see him holding her and the look of wonder on his face. From that moment he was hooked. He is the best Dad.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland