Peer? Pelican?
2002-04-10 - 5:11 p.m.

I was asked recently what I believe a Pelican to be and by extension what I believed a Peer to be. I answered as best I could and thought it might be interesting to hear what my friends and mentors here thought as well so. For those who like to read intentions into posts; don't. This is not about anything other than my musings over three years. And no, I do not believe Peers (or Pels) have perfected these traits but we do try hard to work actively on them.

A Peer...

Seeks out opportunities to make a difference both personally and for our organization.

Provides effective ushering of others through demonstrations of mentorship and leadership.

Exercises the interpersonal skills to communicate effectively when ever possible particularly in times of stress.

Demonstrates self-awareness and personal growth. They do not stand on others to demonstrate new heights.

Carries themselves in dignity without conceit.

Works within our organization for change without endangering the organization.

So what is a Pelican?

First, they must demonstrate that they are a Peer and then they must demonstrate a length and/or breadth of service that provides an impact commiserate with our symbol, the Pelican in her Piety.

Some say that measuring service is difficult. For me it is less so if I use a reverse yardstick.

A Pelican is conspicuous in their absence. By this I mean, if I removed them from the SCA, would their contributions be easily and readily replaced or would they be missed and cause a negative impact on our growth?

In short, did they make a big difference.

What we are not....we are not the lifetime achievement award and we are not the "not quite a ______ so they must be a Pel" Peerage.

So, what do you think a Peer is? or a Pelican or for that matter a Knight or Laurel.... leave me a little something in my guestbook.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland