Arts by non-artisans
2002-02-26 - 8:43 a.m.

Exploring the arts...by a non artisan:

I read the last few diary entries of friends with interest as I can certainly understand their concerns. Even Pelicans get unwanted attention. However, those who know me know that in many ways I still feel like a Goob at heart and particularly in one area, the arts.

I have danced on the fringes of SCA arts for over 15 years. Frankly, for me there was more security in service and (most of the time) far less criticism.

You see, I am an artisan in my mind but have less skill and have had even less time and resources in the past few years to expand my skills. Through exposure to true artisans, I have improved in my execution. I watch, I read, I learn and I ask questions when I can.

I have not improved much in my confidence or in my frustration with the imperfections of initial attempts. Both have and continue to paralyze my attempts to do new things. I hate cutting fabric as it is so permanent. (Kevin's cloak only reinforces that feeling).

I would love to find an arts Mentor, someone to review my project plans in an honoring way and point out obvious errors before I begin execution. There are few down here interested in the same things. Even for me it is extremely hard to ask the very talented for their input.

I am working on the background research on my devotional book, writing the devotions and doing some initial planning on the illustrations. I have done my initial research on my prayer bench and cover and think I have someone who can keep all my fingers on my hands as I begin to do woodwork.

I have wondered for a long time why we do not have an Atlantian Arts Resource Book. Would be so nice to pick up a copy and have the top resources of the top artisans listed. Maybe even with some idea as to whether the resource is best for beginners, intermediate or advanced. Would be nice to include the top worst resources for an art too. In this way the insecure would not choose poorly at the library and those with skill in one area could refer initial inquiries to the resource book.

What is obvious to artists is much less so to a student. Just as nonfighters cannot tell a wrap from a snap, non-artisans cannot initially define primary vs tertiary resources or victorian influences in resources.

Should be some mutuality in a middle ground somewhere.....

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland