Journey to Understanding and Compassion
2002-02-25 - 10:23 a.m.

Journey to understanding and compassion....

I have found that car trips are good for my spirit and bad for my back. That is in itself an interesting problem but I am glad that my spirit still wins out.

This weekend I drove to northern Virginia to attend Ponte Alto's Investiture. I had changed my plans last minute as I had hoped to see friends inducted into the Gold Dolphin but that was a small disappointment in a otherwise really nice trip.

I got going late (drat) because my work week had pressed into my morning Friday but finally got on the road at noon. I am not sure but I think North Carolina may be growing by some strange subterranean plate shift because it seemed to take forever! Realized somewhere around Fayetteville that this was gonna suck for my back. Add to that my eyestrain in driving at night and my very girlie concern about getting lost going to somewhere that I have never been and you can imagine how hard I was clutching the wheel even before I hit the "real traffic" above Richmond. Thank God for Kyneburh's wonderful reassuring and accurate directions to her house and the hospitality with which she and Ragnarr greet their guests! Dinner out with the five of us (thanks, Ragnarr) and I realized just how nice it is to be valued softly and be able to let my guard down after a hard work week and a hard SCA year.

I got to sleep on a very neat comfy futon (just right for my back) and BONUS! Roland and Theo, Cuan and Padraiga also stayed at the house! So, we stayed up and chatted and of course, laughed which was just what I needed for therapy after the week.

But then the price is that we went to bed late knowing we had to get up early. Everyone got up in a timely way and I did not even have the stress of having to follow someone to site as Kyneburh rode with me. (Thanks, K!) Got there and even got to earn my medalion by helping troll. Good grief it is cold in Northern Virginia! As usual, I was more concerned with pretty garb than function and so I had a very Blanche moment and "relied on the kindness of strangers" (not quite, but Robear certainly did not have to go out to his car to get the lovely warm and in my colors too cloak) Too bad I am still not savvy enough after 18 months with my back injury to realize sitting in the Artic is not good after an eight hour drive.

Court was nice and warm in the sun but I had neglected to ask Ragnarr in advance for the bench he brought for me and boy did I know it as my back thawed out in the sun. Thanks Colin for letting me lean on you.

I found a place to lie on the floor with my legs up but I couldn't relax for fear I was being indiscreet with my skirts. So, I was the only person (I hope) to spend part of the day lying on a pew in the sanctuary meditating, praying and trying to relax my back. I think I may have napped.

Left there to spend some fun time with Bryce theorizing about the metaphysics of Scooby-Doo and the Peanuts. Turns out there are "great truths" in cartoons but that is his story to tell.

Dinner with very good company and Ragnarr demonstrated true generosity by sharing his private stash of STC with us. Finally, my back reported that I was indeed DONE and Roland was very sweet and found me a couch in privacy.

I finally started feeling better and then more and more embarrassed that I was lying down in Her Majesty's chamber while she and others moved about getting things done. At home when I cannot trust my back I roll off the couch onto my knees and then use the couch to pull up. This worked miserably as this couch was made out of peanut butter and 4-6 inches taller than mine so I did a half gainer out of it, knocking over a table (complete with flower arrangement) just in case I was not embarrassed enough. Still, the current court is filled with sweet and concerned people who are used to back people and are too socially appropriate to add to my embarrassment.

I just wanted to go home so I waited til the NSAIDs kicked in and tried to discreetly and quietly (what was the point after the couch) get stuff in the car accepting more help at price to myself. So, the back girls got home to lounge in pjs and await those who continued to work at site.

We laughed and relaxed and ate warm cupcakes (ummm, thanks Padraiga) and I realized it really was worth the 16 hours of driving even if I will not be able to do it often. Who else would help me apply my research of medieval medicine to heraldic titles?

Sunday up to philosophic talks and brunch at IHOP (thanks Cuan). Comics reminding me of Sue and visuals of Cuan in long pink gloves and an orange ascot.

Driving home knowing that the numbness would be worth it to be with Les and the girls...

Best of the weekend? Heraldic titles and kung fu hamsters.

Worst of the weekend? Being in the midst of happy couples without Les, being weak in public without him to cover for me and knowing that my L5-S1 injury is in a place only he can rub...

He is essential on so many levels.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland