My Valentines
2002-02-19 - 7:57 p.m.

So, in an effort to lighten my mood and because he always does, I will describe our Valentine's.

Warning...sappy wife/mom alert....

Came home from Ymir to roses as Les wanted me to be able to enjoy them all week. Hate red roses. Really, I think they are frankly...common. (Sorry if they are your personal fave-write your own diary entry!) So this year he got me a sweet bouquet of different roses. Yellow and deep pink and peace and an interesting almost orange color. So, they sat here for over a week by the pc with me enjoying watching each variety open at a different pace. Sweet. And the cat did not eat them this time.

Theme year I guess, he got me my favorite romantic movie, "Bed of Roses."

If you have never seen sterling roses, I will loan you the movie...gorgeous.

Watched it with our 14 year old (initially to humor me but then she got into it-after all she is my sappy, emotive one!) This time it occured to me how close it seems to stalking initially but a stalker who delivers flowers can't be all bad!

Got him decorated boxers (traditional) and chocolates. Got the girls decorated heart socks and chocolates. I thought they were too old for stuffed animals...I think they missed them.

Dinner out with Les and the girls. "What?" you say, "How unromantic!" But, to the contrary, nothing is more romantic than sitting with the man you love enjoying the beauty and sense of humor that represent that same love. Awesome!

So, sushi with Katie while Les and Christie had Thai. Christie ordered tofu sushi...I do not recommend it. Made us laugh and laugh as she was trying so hard to be grown up (at 11) but almost spewed when she took a bite of the delicious "texture" of the tofu!

Reminded me of it when I read Isobel's description of the girl at her Thai dinner!

Blues vocalists who played flute and piano at the restaurant. Nice touch and she kept catching my eye and smiling. Course I was doing a lot of smiling that night too.

Really, it is so odd to think I am in many ways my mother...I can so clearly remember being 15; now my daughter will be making her own memories of that year.

Interesting life. This is what grounds me. This is what I love.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland