Talent and html
2002-02-19 - 9:03 a.m.

Talents and html

So, here it is...my public admission of gross fallibility (is that a word?).

I humble myself before my friends and beg those of you with talents in this area to honor me by not assuming everyone in the SCA is a computer guru.

Yep, if any of you are ever critically ill or something happens to someone you love....I am your gal. I will come sit with you in the ICU waiting room, translate for you from medical jargon into English, watch the regime like a hawk....

just don't ask me to do my own html stuff.

You see BdeB asked me to add a guestbook to my page which I did not mind doing except I did not know how. My issue is not with Bryce; it is with the stupid company that actually posts instructions like "copy and paste the snippet into your html."

Well, that is like asking you to carry this instrument into some patients room and asking you to insert it in their buccal sack. Yep, you can carry the instrument, you get the idea of inserting it but what the hell is a buccal sack!

I have learned a lot about Bryce in the past year....chiefly that he is so much more gentle and caring than I had ever perceived before. So, of course when I could not figure it out he was very kind and not the least bit demeaning and helped me do it. Seems he has had folks in his life that have helped him similarly and this is a chance for him to pay it forward.

I suppose in the end it says as much about me and my arrogance and pride that it bothers me so much. I am sure there are some computer people out there who do not even realize I think they are smug in their knowledge.

Just don't let them write instructions for changing code.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland