Hot Flashes
2001-12-17 - 10:11 a.m.

So, it occurs to me that I am actually 42. Hard to believe for me. Anyway, it also occurs to me that the incredibly odd and provoking sensations I have been feeling these past few months are likely Hot Flashes! Oh my God, I am my mother!

So, as I am somewhat older than many of my friends, I decided to be open and add this to my diary.

Funny term hot flashes, before you get them you think it might have something to do with sex. But no, all the anecdotes seem to be true. One minute you are going along like always and the next minute you feel this incredible internal flush. Very intense, like the way your cheeks just burn when you have embarassed yourself in public except it is your whole core of your body. About the time you feel the full intensity of the heat you feel the (totally) rational need to rip your clothes from your body and scream. Fortunately, the sensation is not as intense as your upbringing and you manage to keep your clothes on.

For months I have been saying to Les, "Are you hot? I sure am hot. Can we turn the air on?" Or when it is really bad, "TURN ON THE AIR!!!! I AM GONNA ROAST!"

If this were the only thing it might be easier on everyone but I think it might make you a little less rational too. For those who know me...that is really sad as I surely developed my emotive side much more than the rational one anyway!

Despite many a raised eyebrow at our house it did not occur to any of us what this was. We don't think much of aging except that we take a lot more NSAIDs like ibuprofen and naprosyn now. In fact, we are enjoying the fruits of our life and our children being old enough that we have our adult lives back some.

So, my family is living with the perimenapausal madwoman.

Anyway, they say half the battle is admitting to yourself so....I guess I will be going to the doctor and exploring the wonders of modern hormone therapy and soy supplements.

How odd....

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland