Authenticity
2001-12-19 - 3:31 p.m.

Authenticity.

I had decided a while ago to look at new ways to explore my creativity now that I am gaining some free time. (Can't let that happen, must fill it with projects!)

Part of this was in an exploration of who I am now that I have my marriage, children and career. Part of this was a need to explore the inner workings of that person in a contemplative way. Among the new goals I set I decided to resume some of my prior artistic endeavors and explore new ones. In addition, I decided I would work more formally on cohesion between the voice of my heart with my life choices.

It occurred to me that both were about learning how to be more authentic. I decided to explore both by designing a modern devotional in a period style. A prayer bench and book.

At first I thought I would work on the persona competition for Kingdom A&S but that put external contraints on a largely internal project. So, I began my research and realized how huge I could make a project with the resources available to a SCAdian.

Enter another gift of the spirit. (I am remarkably cared for in that when I have a challenge to my spirit, I am always given someone or something to support and guide me) A dear friend who thought of a lovely paperback, Music of Silence, A Sacred Journey Through the Hours of the Day by Brother David Steindl, OSB.

The book takes the Canonical Hours and brings them forward from period artistic and monastic references to modern life implications. Sweetly and beautifully and all in 121 pages.

So in the midst of this beautiful and joyous season when so many of our thoughts have been about finishing shopping and getting the tree up, I have been gently reminded and guided back to authenticity.

I love that I am loved.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland