Birthstone Memories
2004-05-31 - 8:49 a.m.

Sapphire reminded me of my first Pennsic...not as crowded as my last few but it had the look of the Serengeti. Even better...this one was stocked with friends and happy faces.

So, the traditional Best and Worst:

Worst:

Long travel hours...1.5 in SC, just under 3 in NC and just over an hour in VA.

The paranoia that hits me when I see that damn roller coaster swoozie over I-95 in Richmond. I paid for clutching the steering wheel.

Wrist pain and knowing that Manya was 30 minutes away through the dark via strange roads.

Having to wake up early and knowing I could not roll back over and get just a bit more sleep.

Too many colors of silk....too hard to choose!

Barometric changes and headaches...I am claiming that as I just cannot see how two small beers and a martini can be a hangover.

Best:

A husband who makes sure you have everything...packs the car...goes out of his way to be kind to others and stays up late to greet you when you come home.

Really warm troll staff after a long trip.

Gracious friends both from home and those who make you feel at home even when you are away.

I was so happy to have friends to with whom to make the trip to and from site. I was more than a bit nervous about the risk of getting lost.

Pre-stocked coffee pots! Coffee with Kim...not everyone appreciates the fluid of life like we do!

Lovely weather...NO rain on Saturday. Gentle breeze. Great company.

A veil from Angevin so that I felt appropriate. Whenever I do not wear one...I think of Niobe and get that little guilty feeling.

Spending time with the "Adorables" and knowing they are so much more than pretty.

Our Queen.

Laughter.

Mmmmmmmmm is for Manya and how gently she can make pain go away.

Rivers Point elevation. Such good, hard working, put together people...and who knew they like Green and Gold so well?

Dinner with laughter for dessert...oh and Nutty Martinis! Yum.

Byram in a cart...and friends to help with any task.

The duet Cuan and Byram sang... voices blended in harmony born of a long relationship and so many common bonds. Close your eyes, listen and soothe your soul.

Theodora!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don't know why, but my day gets better just because she is near. Perhaps it is the blend of intelligent efficiency and injections of humor.

Overcast skys, a little rain to tease you and one of the best tournaments I have ever watched. "One shot, two shot" Colin and the casual elegance of Roland. The beauty of watching friends fight well and with total joy. You can almost understand why a person would put themselves within range of a stick of rattan.

Support for doing the right thing.

Richard and Bertrand and Galmyr...I did not realize how much I miss seeing the people who made the SCA I joined.

Watching Our King train folks from the throne...I learned a lot in an environment I trust.

Meeting Q...the Virginia one. What a lovely, talented and dedicated lady. I am always impressed with those whose hands talk to a medium and then bring from it art. I did not realize how few people in the SCA share my professional interests.

Enjoyable Order meeting just enough business and punctuated by humor and the thundering approach of Atlantia's army in training!

Balynar's smile...I have not seen him in so long and it was good to see him so happy.

Fritz: wickets, paperwork, odors and lip gloss. :-)

Time with some of the NoVa's. Clare's intelligent, quiet humor. Wish there was more time with friends who are so far away.

The warmth of a Byram hug even when it isn't raining.

Travel companionship.

1.5 less travel hours.

A Monday home with the family.


Yes, I had a great time...too many good moments to mention all of them. Worth every mile.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland