Merry Christmas
2003-12-25 - 11:22 p.m.

Merry Christmas everyone!

I am waiting for Les and Kate to return from the latest LoTR. I did not go because I thought I would fall asleep (something about putting together computer furniture til 2am) but I find I cannot rest well til all are home either!

Christmas morning was sweet...our girls are officially older and now just as interested or more in how we feel about our presents than how they feel about theirs. Sweet to be reminded how much they have matured.

The luggage and fencing gear were great hits. Surprise TV-DVD and computer furniture. The right outfits, good books and CDs and fun stocking stuff. Les got car stuff and clothes and cooking stuff and soccer videos. I got jewelry, clothes, books and music. Stocking full of makeup and yummy soaps and foot wraps and neat stuff like that.

The cat got scarey catnip bubbles, nibbles and a cool felted wool mouse. He has taken to "killing" and carting off mufflers or sweaters if drawers are left open so indeed apparently he has a primal thing against wool. He tossed the mouse in the air and batted it around before he napped with his feet and claws firmly on the tail so it "could not get away." Oh and his kitty tent of course...so cute.

My sister came early for presents and brunch. We had an absolutely lovely time and there was no drama...I still have to prepare my heart because as often as not it goes poorly and a truly open heart is easily hurt...but this year, blessed truly blessed with a loving and warm visit with her.

She had messed up her schedule and double booked so it turned out to be us four for dinner. We had pulled out the Spode china the night before and trimmed the boxwood to place under the apples on the apple tree on the sideboard. There were candles burning in the village on the mantle and behind the stained glass angles on the armoir. Reminded me of Les's Mom with a smile. Her home always glowed with love and little details at Christmas.

I am thankful I shook off the doldrums to decorate. Thank you Katie for deciding we needed a tree and thank you Christie for the beautiful dinner table. Thank you Les for the turkey and fixins.

I am truly thankful for all our many blessings. We have so much...family and friends, wonderful professions and hobbies...so much happiness.

I read AoD describe how thankful she is for the opportunity to express herself here and read others' thoughts as well. I too am thankful as I would lose touch with so many of you in the bustle of our lives without these periodic updates.

Thank you for your support, laughter and wisdom through the years. Merry Christmas to you all.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland