Santas here, Santas there, Santas everywhere
2003-12-23 - 10:28 a.m.

So...we have left the land of Scrooge and now have a beautiful sparkling Christmas tree in our living room. I am glad we did it...I am almost excited enough to wrap packages.

Maybe it is because this year there is so little element of surprise. How does one hold a teenager down long enough to measure her without letting her without disclosing what you are doing? I guess I could have said I was measuring for 12th night garb but that far out she would have known that was a lie!

Still, last night we hung ornament after ornament which can be a double edged sword. Many reminded me of my mom and dad and many others of Les's mom. My mind went immediately to Cindy and her family and their holiday season this year. Holidays are hard.

Still there were the series of silly santa ornaments...many too heavy for any but the sturdy branches. You see we have saught the quintessential Santa ornament every year for several years. We have deep sea Santa and snorkling santa, we have Santa in a plane and parachuting Santa. We have Santa driving to the beach in a pink convertable (in honor of Gpa's trip to the beach last year) and Santa fishing from a scallop shell this year (pickings were slim). Bungee Santa used to hang from his spring from the chandelier in the dining room until the connection gave way causing Santa to plummet to the table. Yes, it was tragic.

This year we have two of the Santa's swinging from the ceiling fan pulls...have to remember not to turn on the fan or the bungee Santa incident may be minimalist in comparison.

We have purchased gifts for the cat...he always gets toys and treats in his stocking but this year he got a popup kitty dome tent (tiger printed)for his naps and we also purchased catnip bubbles which should be entertaining on Christmas. We did not buy any catnip toys as he ripped open the last one and ate the catnip. Imagine an eighteen pound stoned cat. I thought we would have to get his stomach pumped.

I will work today and a bit tomorrow then I have Friday off and will enjoy a little mini-vacation. That seems wonderful.

To the store at lunch today to figure out what to make for Christmas eve and Christmas day. My sister may be coming we shall see.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland