A Dose of D'Emma-Good for What Ails Ya
2002-09-30 - 1:25 p.m.

mmmm, wonderful weekends make for much happier work-weeks!

Got a LOT done Friday including most of my xerox needs for October (2.5 hrs in front of the machine). Better yet, a nice man from the Print Shop insisted on carrying the papers back up to my office on 10th floor. How chivalrous! Reminded me of the old SCA!

Then I got on the road to Wilmington. Tired but knowing it would be just what I needed. Got in touch with HRM Cuan and had a great opportunity to clarify my thoughts and ensure the accuracy of my perceptions about some issues I am seeing lately. Either he is a different man or I am a different woman but it is nice to be able to speak to him plainly and openly without the mismatch always caused when bravado meets insecurity.

Met Les for coke and soup before leaving so I would not have hubby withdrawal by Sunday. Called my girls to love on them then hit the road. The route was awesome and I didn't mess up til Wilmington. I finally found D'Emma's. They had repainted their WHOLE house not just the lavendar shutters. Very pretty. Of course, they were fantastic hosts and we stayed up TOO late but it was a great wind down from the week.

Saturday am started easy with yummy coffee and brunch at a unique blend of small town diner and artsy neuvo-cuisine. Yummy hashbrowns with apple sausage. Found out D is an interesting blend of my tastes and Les's.

Started the great embroidery project. When you don't know better you think embroidery machines just whip the designs out. They do...in comparison to hand stitching, but the intricacy of SCA heraldry does not lend itself to ease in translation. Each of the badges took about 45 minutes. But that did provide ample opportunity for chatting.

Emma is now my protege'which means we have a new relationship to explore. We had a period of exploration before we took this step but you can't pre-feel and pre-think everything. So, this weekend was nicely timed to help us learn to be the best travel companions.

Sat we had dinner at Carrabas. I had an odd half headache and was really queezy. Turns out I had eaten a bit of Nutrasweet in a chocolate popcycle. Just glad it wasn't a diet drink! By the time we got home it was better and thankfully I had some yummy leftovers. More conversation, on Saturday largely about our beliefs about SCA, Peerage, the Peerage Orders. We explored what we find most appealing in our favorite Peers and what behaviors were the most challenging for each of us. Very revealing.

We talked about the future and what was meaningful to her. When (as I believe it will one day) the accolade comes to her, she wants to be fully surprised. The best part of it though is that she wants to work on a dream box so that certain parts of the endpoint can be close to her vision. Just like her to have the thrill of surprise but be able to maintain some input and control. I fully support her in this as the moment should be hers as well as Their Majesties and the Orders'. So, we will work along on projects for her as we do projects for other people.

Sunday was coffee and computer games (my two addictions according to D) and then another neat lunch spot. This time it was a trendy blend of Jamaican, Mexican, American cuisine. D even sent me home with pineapple salsa for my Saucey Laurel.

Home to a house with all the carpets newly shampoo'd and to daughters who surprise me yet again with the great young women they are! Presents from Bed Bath & Beyond were big hits. Family cuddle time then dinner of chicken with pineapple salsa (Yep, Les loved it!)

All in all, the best weekend in a long time. I still yearn for the weekend in the Smokey's but nope....I no longer NEED it so badly.

...thanks to good friends and family.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland