Layers of me
2002-06-18 - 3:54 p.m.

Roles in many ways define us. I chafe sometimes at certain designations as I would hope not to be so simple as to be digested into a few characterizations or words. There are layers to me.

I think of them as concentric circles. There is the core of me, known only to God and to my spirit. Just beyond is my conscious self but those thoughts, feelings, and events that I cannot share with anyone. Then there is my most intimate circle; another thin band with Les and perhaps a couple of dear close friends with whom I can be almost open. The next is for my daughters and others who I have chosen to give of my heart passionately, you know who you are. The outer rings are for those with whom I function and am perceived as more a role than a person.

I wanted to be witty and post something fun and heartwarming about our family but my spirit is dampened. I hurt for a friend who is hurting. Deeply in my core, it affects me as do all issues of betrayal.

I will go home to my house and cuddle with my husband and daughters. Laugh at their view of the world and have my heart healed with their love. I am reminded that I am not thankful enough for their ability to sooth me with a smile, a word or touch.

I wish I could run to them now.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland