Bud nipping or cultivating rumor
2002-05-24 - 1:35 p.m.

So, maybe I don't get it, but there are a lot of responses you can have to hearing a rumor...just as in everything else, they each have pluses and minuses when viewed from the perspective of what you are trying to accomplish.

The truly noble respond by not responding, reminding themselves and sometimes others that this is really none of our concern. More often than not, there is much less drama at the root than is flowering at the top of a rumor. I try to go with this plan but I confess I am sometimes not that noble.

Then you can go privately and directly to the source and simply state that you would like information on the subject. The wise choose a source that is not known for drama and whose job it is to deliver information or who can be trusted not to wallow in the cess pool of rumor. When I fail to rock out the first, this is where I usually fall.

Or you can chose any degree of public inquiry. I guess cause sometimes that is easier even if it means that you often broaden the rumor base. If someone wishes you hadn't you can always claim the greater good.

So, if you ever wonder about me or mine or someone you think I care about and you just can't release it... just call. Heck, reverse the charges even. I will help you get to number 1 or at least give you a simple answer like number 2. There is really no need for the third.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland