Minister of E-Lists
2002-01-16 - 7:11 p.m.

Hmmm, a Minister of the E-lists...now who would want that sucky job?

Imagine being responsible for all the folks who actually think that being mean spirited and/or rude is actually okay if you just attach the required punctuation pix ;-), etc. Worse yet are those who believe that by saying "You know I like to use..." humor or sarcasm or whatever and "I don't mean to offend here," that you actually have plausible deniability for your thoughts and actions.

I admit, I use the cutesy punctuation expressions and do sometimes use a disclaimer but then I also DO try to follow up by not saying something that spins my mother in her grave!

No, no one person sent me over the edge. In fact, the deepness of my dismay is actually in direct relation to the number of posts like this I have seen in the last week!

Some of my dear friends call me Pollyanna....okay, I can live with that. I do love folks to be sweet to each other. I love that my best friends actually LOVE their spouses and friends. I am okay with still wishing that everyone was in the same place.

One of the best things about my life was my rearing in the South. It does make a challenge in learning how to be correctly assertive in your adult relationships, but there is still a sweetness. A sweetness that I still think is a reasonable expectation in rearing our children.

Why is it so different on E-lists?

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland