First Impressions
2005-11-15 - 11:50 a.m.

This weekend was great despite the nine to ten hour trip each way. Fantastic travel company, superb host and hostess and frankly, the best team in the whole world.

I don't write much about SCA here because much of my SCA job is on a need to know basis. Still, this weekend we had a deputy meeting as we do 99% of our business by email and phone and never in groups. The goal was to get some work done, get some wide spread feedback on some issues but mostly to provide a venue to get to know other team members. I was pretty happy with the results.

Check the Regnum....I have the best deps, bar none. Talented, intelligent, articulate, witty and hard working.

Monday's 0800 Hospital transition training tour came awfully early after such a full weekend. Still, my two co-workers were nervous so I said I would take the first group.

I had just finished gathering the tour participants and going over our "First Impressions" content. We walked down the hall on the left past the area with the wet floor signs and ...

Yep, I did the splits.

I will tell you...I have never felt such pain. I could not tell if I would pass out or throw up. I was lucky; the tour group contained several nurses, a physical therapist and two security guards. I could not feel them patting down my leg. I knew I did not want to be moved. I just tried not to throw up in my co-worker's lap as she knelt and held my head. My new co-worker was an ED nurse. Before long I was strapped to a back board and riding a stretcher to the ED trying not to be noticed.

Quite the first impression.

Before you get overly concerned...it is just my hamstring. Makes for quite the experience sitting, standing or walking but I am just glad nothing was broken.

Except maybe my pride.

So, reports for the weekend will have to wait another day. If you call, give me time to get to the phone.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland