46 and counting
2005-09-05 - 7:22 a.m.

Truly happy, truly blessed...that is what being 46 feels like.

Kate came home for the weekend. This way we could travel lighter to Coronation. Thankfully we had planned to day trip because after several days of being sick, I was really not up to the weekend camp. Anyway, had Katie's company and quiet humor for Friday. She and Christie were like two little puppies who had been separated. All over each other, gently picking at the other and happy.

So Les and I got up early to be there in time. We had several tense moments as we tried to figure out which directions to take. Went through Greenville to save time but lost 276 in town. Thank God for firefighters. They got us back on track with directions and off we went. We both felt a little off both physically and mentally so the early start and stress of getting there on time did not prep us well for being "on."

Thankfully, the event had a quaint local feel but with the added benefit of good folk from NoVa and MD. Gen made the trek down as Chamberlain, the B&B of Ponte Alto (always full of humor and intelligence), Denise and Thomas and their whole support system. Speaking of support, The Adorables put up Their great day shade so we all had a place to retire to out of the sun.

Last Court was poignant. I like seeing all the retainers recognized and this time supporters were given which was so appropriate. Great choices for Court Baronies as well as they already embody that station.

Coronation was beautiful even with my speaking part and fealty was exchanged (one of my favorite parts to see and participate in).

Court was early enough to be in semi-shade and then we spent some time just laughing and talking. Lots of laughter, robust laughter that makes people look your way to see what is going on.

The Adorables had arranged for a lunch repast for TRM and guests. I went and had some cold roast chicken and bread hoping that would settle okay. Before long I knew it would not so we made a bit of an abrupt departure.

I must say that it was good for us to get home early. The girls had gone on a mall crawl and we just got to be quietly home for once.

Sunday I sent the girls to the movies. Such a hardship! It is wonderful to have Kate with her license and we are becoming less paranoid about it. In any case it was more quiet time which I had no idea I had needed so much. I got to talk with one of my proteges and look forward to hearing about the trip from the other soon. The girls came home and we sat around and chit-chatted and we laughed some more. I went to bed at twenty til ten and was up this am before seven refreshed.

Came in to check email and there were my birthday gifts. So I know they were thinking of me before they went to bed (or maybe hoping they could sleep in!).

I asked Kate last night when she needed to get home today. She reminded me today was my birthday and I said I already had my present with us all being together. So we will do a little shopping this am and then run her back. I have a nice business/social lunch planned and then we will relax a bit before the onslaught of the week.

The new educator starts this week and my week is booked solid except a bit of time on Thursday.

I am so glad for the weekend. 46 feels just fine.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland