Hospital Pelican
2005-09-02 - 6:46 a.m.

Crazy busy at work and not likely to let up for some weeks. Not whining a bit...any feeling of being put out or stressed should be adequately controlled by one newsreel out of NOLA or So Miss. I think of how long it took to recover from Hugo for our Coast and we did not have the logistics of flooding. I have been wondering just how folks could deal with this many days without water, meds and food. I once took care of a family who were stranded on a remote barrier island after a boating accident. They were so brittle and sick...and there are hundreds that are just so.

I heard last night that some evacuees are on the edge of renal failure from dehydration. God bless them and the folks who are trying to help them with those stark physical and emotional needs. And we have not even touched their long term recovery.

What is happening in our lives that could even compare?


Busy but rewarding day yesterday. One of those days where you work hard...physically and intellectually but you actually see outcome.

Had a couple of true urgencies come up at work. Not patient care directly but logistics supporting it. When my new middle level Manager told me about it about 5pm on Wed, I told her I would get on them early Thurs. By afternoon, I had a logistical plan in effect for the long range one and was well into implementation while I was actively supporting and evaluating her implementation plan for the other issue.

By days end, she could not believe the progress. I told her logistics are my thing.

To myself I thought, "Gee, what do you think Pelicans do?"

:-)

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland