Assessments 2005
2005-07-26 - 8:45 a.m.

Friday, I took off work to have plenty of travel time so I could be there at or before 2100 to make sure that the pregnant Duchess had no worries from my corner on the vigil prep. :-)

That am I realized that I had not asked Les to get down the cot I was bringing in case the hotel failed on the reserved rollaway. So here I was in our storage room trying to pull it down from way above my head. For some reason the foot stool was no where to be found (can you say teenagers?) so I hooked one corner with one of the wrenches from the toolbox and started easing it off the shelf. Now, I could see there were a couple sleeping bags on it but I figured that would not be a big deal if they fell on me. What I could not see until too late were the two metal army cots and the boxes of lightbulbs that were soon raining down on my head.

Apparently a rapidly swelling goose-egg is the best way to stop the bleeding from a scalp lac.

In any case, I had to leave to get to site on time so I started down the road still seeing the bright twinkly lights which I thought were sun until I could see them even on the inside of my sunglasses.

Picked up Muirgheal and got some Peanut time with my God-daughter and off we went. Lots of good conversation and laughter and we were there in no time. We trolled in and went to set up the pavilion only to be met by WT and the rest of Hotel de Byram. Before I knew it the tent top was up and totally square (as only those who know "The Way" can understand) and I had acquiesced to the purchase of correct stakes. (I had intended to do so at the Pennsic which I could not attend when Dwight died and just never have gotten someone to pick them up since as The Master is not so inclined).

Off we go to hurry up and wait for surprise candidates to come when they have no idea they are really late! :-) The only fly in the ointment of that type of plan. Still the fellowship was great and it was fun to introduce Muirgheal and watch her have such a good time with the crowd. Still, by the time we were done, the humidity and heat were causing a raincloud to form under my dress and my head was pounding again. Cuan very kindly let me cut in line and I was miserable enough to take him up on it. Before long we were sleeping in ac comfort.

Saturday dawned HOT like the Gates of Hell but without the awful humidity of the night before. We hung out in the estrogen tent full of extremely white, sun phobic women and the occasional secure man who would come by to visit. I made gatorade for the Hotel...a measure of my regard for them as I have not done this in some time. But this is something I can do for them for their generosity and that they will accept in their independence.

So much laughter and a beautiful moment when Fennic came to entertain us...I thought that was so thoughtful and provided a real bright spot in our day.

We enjoyed the hospitality of the Hotel camp and joined in with their dinner. Fennic is such a hard worker and with such a loving, giving heart and the guys have an easy comraderie that is so very attractive. Really, that evening restored so much of the SCA to me. Great humor and conversation with a sense of family and care that is hard to find even here in our Society.

Court was pleasantly cool but I had trouble hearing. I was so happy with how Otto's ceremony went and was honored to play my small part. He has my admiration and I am elevated by this association with him.

A little more happy time at encampment followed by an evening chat with Courtney and Muirgheal and we were asleep sometime around midnight.

Up for Curia which was blissfully in the AC room as many had already left. Short and sweet and out to find that Muirgheal had downed the pavilion. Bryce's face was so funny when he found out she did it without the boys help which I found ironic as Melisent would have done the same thing. I was torn between humor at the irony, being charmed by his concern and pride for my two up front and self motivated proteges.

We helped a bit with take down as best we knew how without knowing their pack out Way and were on the road home pretty early. Side bar to have lunch with JandR then home before unGodly late. Wonderful to get home from so far early enough to have family time.

Back to work and crazy busy but all in all...sweet memories.

BEST

Travel time (any time) with Muirgheal.

Having the three of us together.

Having us three blending with such good humor with the Hotel.

Safety of Malcolm and Lisette and their effort to be there and participate fully...would not have been the same without them.

Humor, hard work and heat=pride and satisfaction.

Restoration and peace at heart.

WORST

Communication is not always easy.

Humidity + Heat

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland