An Ocean of Responsibilities
2005-07-19 - 8:40 a.m.

This is always my tough time of year. Huge demands on me professionally and interpersonally at work. Major extroversion inherent in the intake of so many new employees at the same time.

Add to this the happy stressors of all the family events of May June and August plus the drag of not feeling well and my reserves are not where they should be.

Having two to four personal appointments off campus each week has not been helpful either.

True to form, everyone here is stressed and when stressed, looking for a place to lay that on someone else for a while. Very little positive energy to spread around on a lot of uptight people. Sometimes I wonder if some of our management team are rude in their general lives or if they just save that for here. My boss is happy with what I do...I just can't serve enough people enough of the time enough assistance to make folks happy.

This month and next, we will intake 18 new employees into our area of the hospital. It is a big stress on everyone.

I have had zero turtle time with everything going on with family, etc and I could sure use some.

Instead, today I will usher twenty 6-12 month old nurses through ACLS while I proctor two nervous instructors. Later, I will prep the rest of my program startup for Thursday. Next week, I have a week's worth of content to offer that needs to be organized on Wed. Thursday I have Intern Kickoff before my trip....and I worked part of Saturday and Sunday so my week feels like it should be done tomorrow.

Meanwhile at home, I will finish a dress and Curia prep. Food for program kickoff and Assessment. Pack and drive to Greenville, SC before Buena Vista, VA.

Sometime in the next several weeks, I need to get KT packed and make sure she has everything...from snackfoods to enough underwear to avoid laundry for several weeks.

I think I will force some meditative time into the mix. Otherwise, I do not think I can maintain the emotional output level for the next six weeks.

Thank God I have given up the delusion of Pennsic...best decision I have ever made for myself.

When did the summer turn from the exhileration of body surfing the waves of requests to fighting to keep my head above the waves of responsibility?

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland