Holiday travelogue
2005-07-05 - 12:50 p.m.

So...back at work and last week reads like a travelogue.

Last Tuesday was my first PT appointment. We are rehabilitating the partial contractures in my left leg. So, mostly hamstring and quad work but the real treat is doing Piriformis stretches. Walking with my leg externally rotated allowed me to foot fall on the inside of my foot which was not numb. So, I fell down less but it contracted my hip rotators (such as the piriformis). Needless to say, it is not my favorite exercise but it sure feels good after...I can even tell that my legs are approximating the same length.

So, after PT, Les and I got on the road to Sea Island and the Cloisters. Yep, it was quite a drive and we did not get there til almost 10pm. The girls had gone down with Gpa and so had checked into our suite. Gpa had reserved five rooms on the top floor of one of the guesthouses on the beach. Three were ensuite and we were fortunate to be in one of those. Gorgeous accomodations, beautiful views and phenomenal service.

Wednesday, the morning was pretty enough that Les and I got to walk on the beach before the kids got up. By noon we had more rain though so the day was about trying to survive the younger five grandchildren while trapped in the guesthouse. Fortunately Thursday was beautiful so we got some great beach time and shopping in before Gpas birthday extravaganza at the clubhouse on Sea Island. The best lobster salad and veal I have ever had and yummy asparagus risotto.

Friday we had to be in Richmond by 5pm so we came home and packed Thursday evening and slipped out at 0700 to head up I-95. I always thought NC was ungodly long...turns out when you traverse all of SC, it is just as boring. Still, we got to Richmond in time to check into the hotel (a story in itself) and head to the church.

The Cathedral was just breathtaking. It made for a lovely setting. The PA system was hinky so Kevin and I had the pleasure of trying to read slow enough to avoid reverb without losing the flow and cadence of the scripture...a particular concern in the Song of Songs passage. Friday night we all headed out to set up and enjoy wonderful steaks (thanks to Val) and fixins (thanks Robear and Alesia). Before we knew it we were pumpkins and headed home to the hotel.

The car alarm at 0300 did not promote much rest but we made it to the church early. With the Tirydon crowd we worried about the little old lady who spent the day circling the Cathedral. Eventually 1100 came and we were off down the aisle. It was wonderful to be a part although my mind turned often to Andie.

Kim was beautiful and had just the tiniest touch of nerves. Duane looked great and eager to get going on their new lives. The ceremony was really touching, particularly the music.

Off we went to get changed and head to the park for one of the most relaxed and comfortable receptions of my life. So great to see people relaxed who are always in a bustle. The boys (and Fennic) did a great job on the car and the sparklers were a hit.

We went back and were so tired we could not even come up with a plan. Eventually we headed to bed and had an IHOP breakfast before we headed home.

The girls had missed us, particularly Kate who had been grilled by Les's Aunt about College funds and her boyfriend. Kate had used up all her polite and was very glad to come home just as we were thrilled to see them.

If we cannot take two days away...how will I stand it this Fall?


Best and Worsts

BEST

The Cloisters with my husband and daughters...what a treat.

Gpa's happiness.

Watching Kim and Duane and reflecting on the power of the sacrament.

Chat time with good friends.

Nikulai's suit, Fennics dress.

WORST

Three and a half states!

The problems with the hotel.

Folks wanting me to intervene in what Kim and Duane wanted.

Dameage from the cleaners.

Not being off duty even at a wedding.

Piriformis stretches and too much car time.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland