Whew, No Chat Needed
2005-06-15 - 3:23 p.m.

Well, by the light of day (and with a little sleep)everything looks better. He came by yesterday (while we were at work which is something that USED to not be allowed :-( but...) and they talked about curfews. Kate said he was agreeable but she wasn't sure he "got it." Les and I both resisted saying what we were thinking.

Kate was repentant as evidenced by her voluntarily cleaning her room. That is certainly NOT the everyday occurence.

So, today I am sitting with some management team coworkers catching up on our lives while we eat lunch. When asked how Kate was doing I mentioned we had just had the "As long as you live in this house..." chat. One of the guys has two teen aged sons and we had an amusing interchange on the differences of having a boy house and a girl one. Across the way, Eliot's dad caught my eye and waved. I nodded and explained who he was to my tablemates and then was perplexed to see him rise and approach.

I was a bit non-plussed and mentioned that apparently Eliot had forgotten when he made plans to travel to an event with us that this weekend was Father's Day but we would have him home early. He smiled and said Eliot had been a bit distracted lately and we chatted a bit about college prep. He then mentioned that he had told Eliot that our curfews were plenty generous and that he needed to respect our wishes for Katie. He said, "We've tried to raise him right and he really is terribly fond of her."

Wow. I was still processing as we ended our small talk. As he walked away the guy at our table said he must have been raised right as obviously he had mentioned to his parents that he may have gotten Kate in trouble...my co-worker said he's not sure he would have told his parents. AND that means Les does not need to chat with him as likely he will apologize himself.

So, maybe it all isn't as hard as it feels sometimes....maybe they do listen and absorb at least some of it, particularly when you try to avoid the big conflict and rant. I think back to Saviya and watching her with her daughter and her advice to save the conflicts for the big stuff.

I am so glad I have had good examples to watch and follow.

Today looks a little brighter.


Hotel arrangements...hate to make them. Never can remember the name of the hotels where we have stayed. Go back to the same places and get it wrong about half the time.

Les must hate to make them too. He did make arrangements for this weekend easing my mind on that one....

Assessments looms though and I may be making the trip solo. Had a hard time imparting that I hate motels if I am by myself (outside corridors). Not sure why but I just don't feel as safe so I sleep poorly. Not something I need after the drive up. I think he thinks more of me than he should. He thinks I am more brave than I am.

But I am not.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland