My Mother's Voice, My Mouth
2005-06-14 - 9:36 a.m.

Yep...I have become my mother. Last night when we were once again waiting for Katie to come home from a date...late, I felt the slow realization that I was sitting where my mother once sat. The next realization was that once she felt the slow burn of frustration and feeling disrespected in conflict with a growing concern and anxiety for "her" wellbeing.

When she came home...I recognized the anxiety of knowing you did something wrong wrestling with a growing desire for independence and individuality.

So there I was having this whole multi-generational movie playing in my head while Les and I tried to balance our need to be respected (and have proper rest in the work week) with her need to not be the most restricted high school graduate in her sphere of friends.

She has only been dating since February and school constrained much of that. We never really had to have curfews as each date was considered on its own. But we feel the need for clarity of expectation. Yep...very much the "as long as you live here" speech that most of us got the summer after graduation.

In less than two months, she will be in the dorm...able to come and go as she pleases...choose as she will. We are aware of that. But for now, we cannot sleep until she is home. We need her (and him) to respect that.

I have no idea when parenting becomes less challenging...

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland