Carry What You Can
2005-06-13 - 4:54 p.m.

Seven things...

Well, I have been thinking on that but having a hard time coming up with them because they have morphed over time.

So, I decided to morph the question into what would I save if I could from a fire or other disaster?

1) The cat...Not because Baheera would value me any more than he does for doing so but because it is a) the right thing to do and b) my family would be bereft if I did not.

2) The wedding album and girls baby albums. Precious memories perhaps impossible to replace.

3) The jewelry box with my rings, my mother's wedding set and my wedding pearls. I don't wear any of it very much anymore but each is a remembrance of a special moment.

4) The pictures on the mantle. Some can be replaced but some cannot. There is my Mom and Dad, Les and I slow dancing at a frat formal, Les dancing with his Mom at a wedding, several of the girls at various points in life, my sibs at my wedding.

5) The pieces in the coffee table...pictures of my folks pre-marriage, war medals, baby momentos.

There are antiques too large to carry, wedding china and silver once important but not really now. SCA things that would have to wait for a later, if possible, trip. I should say the cellphone, files and hard drive because so much of the SCA office is held within...but no, I would not risk life and limb to go back in for them.

You see, if we made it out with us four and the cat, I could restart my life. The momentos would tie me just enough to my past precious life so that I would not feel adrift in the world.

What strikes me is there is so much there that I have realized is not essential. I feel the need to purge myself of things that only reflect the past but really have no emotional or monetary value.

Boggles the mind.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland