Long weekend...long post....graduation and party time...
2005-05-30 - 4:04 p.m.

Fighting a migraine...at least determined not to give in. I get them after stressful times. I guess I should be grateful that times have not been such that I have them very often now.

But this weekend was so very full...happiness abounding but still, heightened emotion.

Friday evening we had a bit of a quiet time as a breather between the full week at work and the expected treadmill of activities for the weekend. I made Katie try on her cap and gown and shed my tears early which she thought was crazy but I knew would stand me in good stead on Saturday.

Slept poorly as I always do when I am fearful we will oversleep for an early appt. Graduation was at 0830 and Kate had to be there before 0735. So, we managed to all get there early without any grumpiness from the tired teenagers. Off she went to line up with the gang and we milled in the crowd til we found Gpa. His "ladyfriend" decided to meet us for lunch as she thought it best to leave the occasion to family. She is so very thoughtful and does not realize that we have begun to think of her just that way.

So, we found seats and waited for the processional. Our school is one of the top 5% of High Schools in the nation based on academics and programs. It showed at graduation. They had prepared seating for the graduates in front of the stage and a long line of chairs ran down the walls of the coliseum floor facing them for the faculty who all wore their academic robes and hoods. The Chamber Orchestra played as a prelude and before long the opening strains of "Pomp and Circumstance" began. I eagerly awaited Kate's entrance and was surprised to be all excitement and no tears. Funny, my sister burst into tears instead...we were both surprised. But I guess I pre-worry everything. Kate had told us she was between too tall guys so indeed...she was easy to spot. She took her seat and fortunately she was on an aisle so we could see her the whole time. She began to scan the seating (stadium seating up to the rafters) and could not find us...finally we stood and all waved our arms wondering if we would embarass her. But she finally saw us indicating so by the flash of a beautiful smile and the graceful bowing of her head before she assumed the "appropriate" eyes front position.

The ceremony was really well done with students performing most roles...rhe invocation, anthem, address, etc. Our Principal addressed the family and friends and I misted up there as well as during the song "For the Good." I was missing her Grandparents and I guess Gpa was too.

There was the traditional parade across the stage which was so much less emotional than I expected it to be. The moments for me were seeing her come in and watching her during the ceremony...how beautiful and poised she is. Her wonderful smile and her gentleness with those around her. Really, the day was more a seal of approval of her as a young woman than the mourning of a passage. The recessional, "ode to Joy," was the perfect choice.

We found her finally in the milling of families and took the required gazillion pictures before meeting Gpa and Mrs. Suzanne for a wonderful quiet lunch. Suzanne brought Kate a Gamecock satchel and beautiful monogrammed towels..."So your roomies know they are yours!" With such an early start to the day...we were home by one.

Kate hates to shop but she very sweetly came along to run errands for her party. We had a wonderful quiet time. I realized we were talking like I do with my friends and that was perhaps the moment of passage.

While we were gone, Eliot came by to pick her dad's brain on gift ideas...he had not been able to concentrate on that since the hospital stay and late exams pressed into graduation. Les was a bit at a loss and I think not too much help but...

Sunday we slept in a bit and then packed up for the party. Off we went to pick up a few teens then to Gpas to set up. Kate and Chris were a tremendous help and my sister was a dream. By ones and twos the guests arrived but still no Eliot who was bringing several of the guys. Before long he called Les and told him he was still at the mall working on a gift...."Does Katie have pierced ears?" Les gave a bit of advice then concluded with the best advice which was his presence would be present enough.

Eventually he arrived and I sent Kate upstairs to exchange gifts in private. Hers a cool CD/clock radio and a card about waking up for class (because she frequently had to wake him up in class). I did not pry as to what he chose so off they went to the pool.

They returned several hours later and we grilled much food (man the boys can eat!). At one point Kate walked through and I asked what Eliot had given her. "A ring," she replied casually. Apparently, my eyes and Mrs. Suzanne's bugged out because she laughed and said with a smile, "Not like THAT Mom." She ran upstairs to show me a beautiful marquis ruby set between two tiny diamonds. For the second time I resisted my mother's strict influence and did not tell her it was too intimate and too expensive to accept. Mom will need to forgive me even as I ponder whether she would have been right.

Dessert was brownie sundaes...funny, the girls fell upon the chocolate just like the boys had fed ravenously on the hamburgers! The evening ended with a huge puppy pile of late stayers watching "Animal House" and wondering if college could be anything like that.

Today I awoke at 0730 and realized I had smartly takent the day off. Later, I woke at 1pm. Having been sleep deprived for a week...I guess it caught up to me. My family gave me the gift of a lovey quiet day with a movie and then they went off to the mall to pick up summer reading books and resize ruby rings. Looking forward to them coming home.

I am not sure life gets better than this.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland