TiC-Toc...a new beginning
2005-04-17 - 6:52 p.m.

Tournament of Chivalry has come and gone. As with most significant times...so much prep and then done in a blink!

And so it begins. I now have two new wonderful proteges and a dedicated associate. The ceremony was so much like we had hoped it would be. The fact that we were very late turned out to be a Godsend as many friends and companions were able to make it. Just as sweet were those who took the time to come by to meet these three and to give a word of welcome and encouragement.

Their Majesties attended and were given seats of honor. Mistress Emma was able to be there to convey the purpose of our Order as personified by our emblem, the Pelican in her piety.

Sir Bryce was kind to join Maria Francesca and me. It was good to have his support and also for him to be close at hand to witness Lady Melisent make this step.

I was struck as I spoke that there were so many dear people present. You all know that emotion sometimes betters me when I am touched by kindness. I was glad to be able to concentrate on the task at hand. Perhaps the most important and intriguing process of the day was the tunneling down that ocurred during the fealty and commitment portions of the ceremony. What a blessing to have everyone fade from view but each of their three faces in turn. Those moments felt like they were ours alone. In the final admonishment of those present...I understood the power of words I have so often heard. If there is good done by Lady Melisent, Lady Muirgheal or Lord Cormac...I sincerely hope that they are given a moment of personal praise before I hear. Still, if there is some perception of wrong...it is my hope and expectation that will come to me as I will have failed them in guiding their path.

There were several good people who helped set the stage so that we could prepare for the moment and I should thank them once again.

My dear husband who made sure the food was appropriate, packed the car (yes, and continued to pack as I remembered more things).who supported me in my nerves and who made sure the buttoinere was picked up and the hair appointment made!

Our loving daughter who was so accepting and secure when her formal was moved to conflict with this ceremony. I am so proud of Christie. She is maturing into a secure, giving and intelligent woman. And yes, some of you will get to see pictures...

Our loving daughter who was my travel mate, who gave up some of her morning to stand by me and recognized how much having my family present meant to me, who happily spent the afternoon wrapped in a leather apron hammering at a forge. What a wonderful woman...what a great memory for the two of us.

Sir Bryce who has so recently begun a new path with his own students, who counselled and supported me as my peer and friend, ran interference so that the belts could be made and who made sure that the mechanics of the morning were taken care of with the assistance of the Hotel de Byram.

Baron William and Baroness Julien who provided the skill to embroider the badges on the hoods, who provided their loving and gentle support and companionship on the day and who want only the best for everyone.

Lady Brigida, Mistress Benefse and Mistress Susannah who made the kneeler tassels, transported them and expertly sewed them. In preparing for the day, the act of homage grew in importance and significance to all of us. Just as the act of kneeling was a symbol...the cushion of those kneelers was as well.

Mistress Nia and Master Nikulai for their friendship and support. It would not have felt complete without their presence. Course, coffee being essential to my well-being...that did not hurt either.

The Hotel de Byram, Lady Meadh and Lady Alesia who made the effort to be present in love and support, who helped willingly with every task and who provided so many moments of good humor in a sometimes stressful day.

Lady Melisent, Lady Muirgheal and Lord Cormac who made the step, who cared for each other and for me and who not only "Chose Grace" when needed but also chose humor and love.

To all who were present, who came to help or had a kind word...thank you.


For those still with me...the best and worst in reverse order.

BEST

The one on one moments of the ceremony.

The joy on Kate's face at the forge.

Estrogen Tsunami under the tent.

Touching base with several dear friends and having them meet those who shared my day.

2 inches of lucet cord.

SCA family dinner...felt like old times again.

WORST

Missing Les and Christie.

Getting lost and beginning to feel undone. Felt like a hundred U turns.

Being late and not prepared for Her Majesty.

The undone feeling of both ends of the day.

Missing seeing and speaking to a few people.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland