"Oh Lord, please don't let me be misunderstood"
2005-04-15 - 8:11 a.m.

Reference is to an old Animals song...my theme song lately.

Yesterday started and ended with the promise of a new day. It was the middle that kind of sucked.

By mid-morning I had realized that I had unintentionally hurt someone and made recompense. Thank you for your forthrightness and openness. Next, I had a miscommunication with a good friend which ended particularly badly.

Mid-morning was my presentation on ventilator associated pnuemonia to the QI team where I met unexpected immediate resistance to RESEARCH BASED PRACTICE CHANGE about brushing patients' teeth...that was bad enough but then she suggested that my co-worker and I round daily to check with the staff to see if they had any issues and were complying with policy. Hmmm...compliance with policy is a management issue. We are two people for a 300 employee, ten department hospital. I am lucky if I round once a week.

By mid-afternoon I was emotionally spent and still had to get through the rest of my prep for the weekend.


Thank God for the end of the day.

Silver polished and packed as requested-go girls! Car packed by the wonder-hubby and daughter.

Had two chats with good, supportive friends.

I ran errands (including the VERY important selection of the RIGHT shade of red nail polish so Christie's toe nails would not clash with her dress)...picked up polish for Christie AND bonus: Katie...embroidery thread for Julie (ask what brand and bring thread if someone is using their machine for you...it is pricey and they probably get asked a lot!)...candles for ToC dinner (unscented for BdeB although it was hard to get out of Pier One without something better).

Then off to the Adorables where the hoods were embroidered (they look really pretty) and I got to chat with two of my favorite people. Laughter is so therapeutic.

Ran home to work on the Crown list and then cover cushions...no time for a new dress. But then, you guys will be so shocked and surprised when you finally see one right?

Finished up the night with a chat with Ni-Ni. She had a very stressful computer failure and loss of a term paper so we got to be good for each other. At least I hope I was as good for her as she is for me.

Then, sleep at midnight only to rise at six to come inservice. Thank God...not ONE bit of resistance. Several good pertinent questions.

Now...I gotta go do that prevelence study. Then the joy of xeroxing as prep for Monday. Then I get to hold my office mates hand so she gets skills fair completed.

I can't wait for my road trip!

See you all soon.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland