Old hearts and new hearts
2005-04-06 - 6:10 p.m.

Last night was lovely...time with the girls, my husband and a nice conversation catching up with a friend who has been on my mind.

Today, work was hard...one of those weeks where my Guardian personality gets to put up or shut up. Skills assessment is eight straight hours of trying to decrease performance anxiety, assess baseline knowledge and briefly enhance knowledge base or repair incorrect learning. Requires a constant stream of moderate extroversion.

Ugghhh...tired just thinking about it.

Got home to find that The Boyfriend had given KT her gift from his spring break trip to Europe....typical mixed feelings for me: excitement for her, mild suprise and delight at his good taste, memories of my mother (more on that in a minute).

I thought it might be from Paris but he brought her a fine guage, yellow and white gold heart necklace from Venice. Just right for her elegant but sweet. I may have to really like this boy.

I could not help but remember how my own mother would have been appalled at the intimacy of her receiving jewelry. After all, it is worn against the skin! I smile even now thinking of it.

Perhaps that is why I LOVE receiving jewelry now.

Christie's first real formal and the protege ceremonies at ToC are fast approaching. So much to do. Hard to not be in two places at once. Have fully prepped her for the event...now to just get my OWN ducks in a row!

Later taters.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland