A Undampened but Muddy Day
2005-04-04 - 6:23 p.m.

Well, the weekend was...long.

Friday found me tying up loose ends at work that had precious little to do with me and everything to do with some of the Nurse Managers not managing. Errr.

But I got to the Adorables in plenty of time to get packed in a light misting rain and head to Raleigh. Fantastic travelling companions, the Adorables...just the right mix of humor, work and companionable silence to make the trip shorter.

We drove along chatting and working on memorizing the Coronation oaths. I cannot thank them enough for their patience. I totally freaked when on one run through I referred to the Royalty governing the people of ATLANTA! Instant panic in my heart that THAT would imprint in my mind.

We get close to Raleigh and hear from Nia that the scroll for Collwen needs a ride to Maryland...funny, we are going that way! So...we become custodians of the GORGEOUS piece and pick up Benefse and Brigida and their stuff.

Our silver van is MUCH smaller than the old blue one and boy I knew it on Friday! The back was packed to the gills! Benefse was the trooper who took the back but that meant there was precious little conversation with her which I must admit I missed.

We got to Duane and Kim's and unpacked. Had a nice time chatting and worked out the Saturday shower schedule. ;-) We got up WAY early to head for Maryland but made the trip in no time. What is it about me that has the wishful expectation that the minute you cross the MD border, I think the site will be ten minutes away? Took some Excedrin migraine to fend off my eyeball popping out and rolling around the car.

Got in the hall without too much moisture and prepared for the Ceremony. Got the heads up that Cuan would be the newest NP...man that little short term secret was just delicious! Tried to get my game on but between the nerves, headache, meds, heat and crowd by the middle of Last Court I was trembling, nauseated and feeling faint. You know I feel bad if I take a mug of what turns out to be moonshine and press it to my face just to cool it down a bit!

The next hour was a series of beautiful and wonderful court moments and dashes outside for cool air. I was struck by how calming it was to see Robert and Denise as they approached the thrones. It felt wonderful.

Then off we went to Collwen's vigil in the light rain that was the uninvited guest of the day. I almost bagged going in but had promised to let Benefse and Alesia go in with me. So glad I did as it was one of the sweetest moments of the day. So gentle and so deserving.

Then it was off to the regalia meeting where everyone was dedicated to making the right decisions but one notch off of being in sync with our communication. Still, what a great group of people. I was able to share a good moment of humor with HM Robert and drank a much needed mug of water (the only one I had all day which was not the best choice).

I had to laugh when Kimmie came by to show me just how muddy you can get playing camboc. She is full of surprises...all good ones that bring me joy.

We had planned to stay for court (and half of us for feast) but when I saw the beginnings of the mud wrestling that was the parking lot I decided that I needed to find Duane and at least get my car to the road....we had too many people to try to stay somewhere in Maryland unexpectedly.

Shades of 20YC...when I asked Duane he said, "Your car may not be leaving tonight" or something like that. I said something totally stupid like "That is unacceptable!"

Fortunately for me...Timoch and a band of very well dressed but muddy men pushed Duane and my van up the worst of the hills while I followed behind with my new shoes being sucked from my feet.

At this point, I knew the lot would be crazy after court and even worse after feast. I was wet to my knees. BdeB and Kim to their bones. So we decided to gather the troops and head for drier land. I was so sad to have to tell HM Denise that we were leaving but it was THE THING TO DO.

Off to Richmond to clean up, change and dinner at Outback. Home to chat til the wee hours and up all to soon to head home.

How I love the coming home!

Bests:

1)Cuan's NP and my kiss on Janos's cheek!
2)The ceremony going well.
3)The coolness of pewter against your face.
4)Doing the right thing when tempted to show my behind.
5)Collwen's shining face, me sitting with two great new Pelicans and knowing the rightness. The hope of one day being the four of us.
6)Mistress Susanna...lately I have been blessed with opportunities to serve with her and it is always pure joy and delight.
7)Forward moving committees. Lucia did a fine job of letting folks have their say while keeping us going in the right direction. Q, Mel, Gen and B having such good thoughts and ideas. TRM with conviction and humor.
8)Robert's smile.
9)Traveling without Les but knowing that I do not have to worry. Thank you Timoch, Byram and to the other mud splattered men.
10)An adorable trip.
11)The gift of laughter.
12)The gift of quiet confidence in knowing right when you are in its presence.
12)Mud-dawber proto-proteges and family.
13)Homecomings.

Worsts

1)Fear of fainting and no where to go to lie or sit down.
2)Moonshine scent rising from a cold mug pressed to your face.
3)Not feeling "on" until the last possible second.
4)Sadness and hurt that keep people from living in joy and love.
5)Transitions.
6)Uncomfortable stylistic differences.
7)Bathroom breaks with wet skirts.
9)Mud...no make that 9-100000000000....


previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland