Kashi Catastrophe
2005-03-25 - 9:34 a.m.

First, of course I have opinions about withdrawal of life support means. But I also have personal and professional experience of the pain and anxiety surrounding those decisions. So, I will only offer here that the entire family needs the support of our prayers...the woman, her husband and her family. Til we walk in each of their shoes...opinions are just too easy.


Now for something much lighter and in fact somewhat silly.

I have started a faith based wellness plan (not the silly part...wait for it). I am heartened and full of hope but having some trouble with my exchange diet (7 oz meat, 5 fat exchanges, 11-12 small servings of bread, 4 of fruit, 4 of vegies, 3 of milk/day) as I did not up to now eat fruit and that is a LOT of carbs but to eat with so little fat exchanges!

So my husband is as always very supportive so he went to the grocer and brought home some things we had talked about to enhance the variety of carbs and get more fruit in. One request I had was Kashi cereal as I have enjoyed it at Nia's and thought it would be good with fresh fruit. So this am, I arose early for an EARLY class. As I showered and dressed, Les went to brew coffee and prep breakfast (1 cup Kashi, 1/2 cup skim milk, 1/4 cup fresh strawberries).

When he presented it...it did not look like Nia's but I thought, "Hmmm, must be different brands." I gamely put the first spoonful in my mouth and crunched down on what is surely the hardest grains of fiber in the world. Turns out...there ARE two kinds of Kashi: flakes to eat cold and grains to cook for 25 minutes and eat hot like oatmeal.

Not having 25 minutes this morning we tried nuking for 5 which made it safe for dental enamel but not soft enough to swallow without a sipping coffee to make a swallow slurry.

Needless to say, I bet I will burn extra calories trying to digest uncooked Kashi!

High fiber anyone? Must be love!

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland