Gulf War on My Terms
2005-03-21 - 5:09 p.m.

So, I am back at work and paying for my vacation. Yes Nia, my co-worker did NOT have everything ready for skills assesment tomorrow. Sigh.

The War was what I needed it to be...full of quiet time for contemplation and journaling and social time full of laughter and good company.

The trip down was better than Adorable. I had the best of company and was so fortunate to have William to do the driving. We took the trip in stages...a luxury seldom afforded for nine hour SCA trips that allowed us to arrive rested.

TRMs graciously allowed me a space in their cabin which turned out to be perfect for Julien and I as the start of Gulf War was rainy and cold. My back and leg are so much better than before but that weather is my ticket straight to neuropathic pain so the cabin was the place for me.

I contributed to the war effort by making something like 50 combat arrows (my first time and only 3 failed inspection!) and completing a number of Her Majesty's favors. In the favors project, I had the sweetest help in the B's son, Brian. So cute, intelligent and committed to helping. I had the best time watching them while Mom completed some of her other duties. That night, I managed to drive a splinter beneath my pinky nail and knew I would have some trouble with it not getting infected.

The next day dawned cold and while I ventured out it was not for long. I spent the day doing my reading and journaling that I was committed to complete for the week. I did some shopping but really was not too impressed. By the night, the girls were restless so after a splendid dinner of pork chops and salmon, a wave of libation and estrogen came over the cabin. Poor Bob and Robert, we picked at them unmercifully as we tempted fate with Beer, wine and Buttery Nipples.

So Thursday found Barb ill and by mid morning I had joined her in dry heaving over the rail. We prefer to believe it was the salmon which tasted more like tuna as we did not feel the least hung over. In any case, I am forever thankful for Pepto tablets (did you know that they are flavorless? no horrible wintergreen flavor) from Robert's first aid pack. With the help of the pepto my stomach stopped wrenching itself and I was able to nap. That evening was so cold we went into Lumberton for beef stew and then I took a book to bed.

Awoke Friday to the most beautiful day and had the best time walking around. Went shopping, watched the fighting, visited with Kari and Isobel. Met Aaron and attended a seneschal symposium. (Nice war with that being my only duty for the week.) Friday night was dinner with William, a beautiful court and the excitement of the fire juggler...Cuan looked like a kid at Christmas :-) Home to bed early and then up at 0230 to greet the folks coming in from the party. I guess even men get giggly when they are drunk.

I got asked several times why I did not socialize much. Hard to explain without sounding like I am hateful but I did not want to be extroverted. I needed a down time with interaction limited to small groups and individuals. Truly, no slight intended but likely folks cannot understand coming to war to be alone.

Saturday we packed out and leisurely drove to Oxford. Seeing the foothills of Georgia was somewhat poignant. My father's home and the "home" of my childhood. Slept poorly that night and eagerly awaited my return home. There is just something delicious about the sound of a daughter's voice on the phone so I was more than ready to be home.

By Sunday night I had waded through emails and returned several calls which brings me to today and prepping for the work week.

My life is still full. But now, I am relaxed and able to flow with it.

previous - next

gratefulness.org

� dameanne 2001-2002
design by colin-g

Latest Older Guestbook Profile diaryland